The Hacienda

Available

Product Details

Price
$27.00  $24.84
Publisher
Berkley Books
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
6.3 X 9.2 X 1.4 inches | 1.2 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780593436691

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Isabel Cañas is a Mexican-American speculative fiction writer. After having lived in Mexico, Scotland, Egypt, and Turkey, among other places, she has settled (for now) in New York City, where she works on her PhD dissertation in medieval Islamic literature and writes fiction inspired by her research and her heritage.

Reviews

"[A] gothic tale of doomed love and vengeful spirits.
--The Washington Post

"Don't read this gothic horror right before bedtime, especially if you're prone to nightmares.
--Good Housekeeping

"
Pretty much the perfect Gothic novel... meaning it reads like a brilliant piece of historical fiction and a, 'Okay, I'm gonna need to sleep with the lights on now, ' horror novel."
--Jezebel

"The scary, atmospheric, gorgeous Gothic of my dreams."
--Rachel Hawkins, New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs

"Gothic terror at its best, layered with tension: class, religious, and sexual. You will be so immersed in its skillful storytelling that the hours will vanish."
--Simone St. James, New York Times bestselling author of The Sun Down Motel

A haunted history, a gory gothic, a forbidden romance. This book kept me up at night, and it was worth every second of lost sleep.
--Alix E. Harrow, New York Times bestselling author of The Once and Future Witches

"A hypnotic, sinister tale that is equal parts terrifying and luxurious. Cañas's debut is a nightmare lined with velvet."
--Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves

"A haunting gorgeous tale of doomed love, vengeful spirits, and tortured faith that I could not put down."
--S.A. Chakraborty, bestselling author of The Empire of Gold

Lush, sinister, and darkly romantic. The Hacienda is a haunting and brilliant debut.
--Alexis Henderson, author of The Year of the Witching

"Absolutely enthralling--I read it in one sitting because its vivid prose and spectacular twists and turns made it impossible to put down."
--Genevieve Gornichec, bestselling author of The Witch's Heart

"As romantic as it is terrifying, The Hacienda is a lush, atmospheric read that never pulls any punches. Horror fans, fantasy fans, and romance fans will all find something to love here."
--Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For the Wolf

"A stunning, spellbinding debut. The Hacienda is bone-chilling and gloriously gothic. Absolutely unmissable."
--Rachel Harrison, author of The Return

The Hacienda is a ghost story that also earns its place as literature. Cañas is a name to watch.
--Daniel Abraham, co-author of The Expanse series

"[A] spooky Gothic story full of supernatural flourishes.
--PopSugar

Cañas clearly knows the genre, alternately deploying and subverting haunted house tropes. The result is a brilliant contribution to the new wave of postcolonial Gothics. Readers won't want to miss this.
--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Lush, beautiful, and completely deserving of the comparisons to Rebecca, The Hacienda is essential reading in the gothic revival."
--CrimeReads

[A] blend of horror and mystery with a gothic heart, complete with a heroine on the brink of madness, running into the night in fear. This chilling read exposes the rotting soul of colonialism and manages to be wildly entertaining while doing so.
--Shelf Awareness

"Debut gothic thrills appropriately billed for fans of Silvia Moreno-Garcia's Mexican Gothic and Oyinkan Braithwaite's My Sister, the Serial Killer.
--Library Journal

If you love the Gothic Horror genre but are keen to see a heroine with more agency and a story with plenty of bite, The Hacienda just might be what you've been looking for.
--Mystery & Suspense

If you like gothic horror (creepy manors and the like), then you'll love this highly anticipated thriller that takes place at a haunted hacienda.
--Betches