The Great Mortality

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$16.98
Publisher
Harper Perennial
Publish Date
Pages
400
Dimensions
5.9 X 7.86 X 0.97 inches | 0.65 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780060006938

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

John Kelly, who holds a graduate degree in European history, is the author and coauthor of ten books on science, medicine, and human behavior, including Three on the Edge, which Publishers Weekly called the work of an expert storyteller. He lives in New York City.

Reviews

"John Kelly gives the reader a ferocious, pictorial account of the horrific ravages of [The Black Death]."--Michiko Kakutani, New York Times
"Powerful, rich, moving, humane, and full of important lessons for an age when weapons of mass destruction are loose."--Richard Rhodes, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Making of the Atomic Bomb and John James Audubon: The Making of an American
"Written with a keen eye for the details of the past, it might also be a warning about our future."--Jack Weatherford, DeWitt Wallace Professor of Anthropology at Macalester College and author of Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World
"Rich and evocative...written in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman, I couldn't stop reading this work of brilliance and wisdom."--Richard Preston, author of The Hot Zone
"Stunning. The Great Mortality [is endowed with] the sheer immediacy ancient history yields to only a few."--Houston Chronicle
"A fascinating account of the plague. A frightening reminder of what could happen today."--Nelson DeMille, The Birmingham News
"THE GREAT MORTALITY skillfully draws on eyewitness accounts to construct a journal of the plague years."--New York Times Book Review
"A compelling and bone-chilling account."--Tampa Tribune
"Splendidly written. Kelly has written a popular history based on the best scholarship available, and written it very well indeed."--Detroit Free Press (**** 4 out of 4 stars)
"THE GREAT MORTALITY is a chilling account of a global siege, public pits, death-carts, silent villages and empty streets."--Charleston Post & Courier
"A compelling and eminently readable portrait."--Library Journal
"A ground-level illustration of how the plague ravaged Europe...putting a vivid, human face on an unimaginable nightmare."--Kirkus Reviews
"A compellingly vivid account."--The Guardian
"This sweeping, viscerally exciting book contributes to a literature of perpetual fascination."--Booklist (starred review)
"...splendidly written..."--Philadelphia Inquirer
"...accessible and engrossing..."--Publishers Weekly