The Grace Kelly Dress (Original)

Brenda Janowitz (Author)
Available

Description

"Exactly the type of book I love: charming, smart, and brimming with heart."--EMILY GIFFIN, #1 New York Times bestselling author of All We Ever Wanted

"Fast paced and entertaining from beginning to end."--KRISTIN HANNAH, #1
New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale

Two years after Grace Kelly's royal wedding, her iconic dress is still all the rage in Paris--and one replica, and the secrets it carries, will inspire three generations of women to forge their own paths in life and in love.

Paris, 1958: Rose, a seamstress at a fashionable atelier, has been entrusted with sewing a Grace Kelly--look-alike gown for a wealthy bride-to-be. But when, against better judgment, she finds herself falling in love with the bride's handsome brother, Rose must make an impossible choice, one that could put all she's worked for at risk: love, security and of course, the dress.

Sixty years later, tech CEO Rachel, who goes by the childhood nickname "Rocky," has inherited the dress for her upcoming wedding in New York City. But there's just one problem: Rocky doesn't want to wear it. A family heirloom dating back to the 1950s, the dress just isn't her. Rocky knows this admission will break her mother Joan's heart. But what she doesn't know is why Joan insists on the dress--or the heartbreaking secret that changed her mother's life decades before, as she herself prepared to wear it.

As the lives of these three women come together in surprising ways, the revelation of the dress's history collides with long-buried family heartaches. And in the lead-up to Rocky's wedding, they'll have to confront the past before they can embrace the beautiful possibilities of the future.

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
Graydon House
Publish Date
March 03, 2020
Pages
336
Dimensions
6.1 X 0.8 X 9.0 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781525804595
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Brenda Janowitz is the author of five novels, including The Dinner Party and Recipe for a Happy Life. She is the Books Correspondent for PopSugar. Brenda's work has also appeared in The New York Times, USA Today, The Washington Post, Salon, Redbook, and the New York Post. She lives in New York.

Reviews

PRAISE FOR THE GRACE KELLY DRESS

"The Grace Kelly Dress is exactly the type of book I love: charming, smart, and brimming with heart. You won't be able to put down this story of three generations of women and the fit-for-a-princess dress that binds them. This is Brenda's best book yet!"
--EMILY GIFFIN, #1 New York Times bestselling author of All We Ever Wanted

"A charming, heartfelt novel about three generations of women who are connected by the gorgeous gown that each wears on her wedding day. Fast paced and entertaining from beginning to end."
--KRISTIN HANNAH, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale and The Great Alone

"Brenda Janowitz's gift is understanding and revealing the nuances of complicated families, of love embraced, love lost and love reclaimed. With The Grace Kelly Dress she has stitched together a seamless intergenerational modern-day fairy tale, with a very contemporary twist."
--MARY KAY ANDREWS, New York Times bestselling author of The High Tide Club

"Brenda Janowitz writes with extraordinary humor and heart, her writing growing in beauty and maturity with every book. This is a book that has to be added to your nightstand immediately."
--JANE GREEN, New York Times bestselling author of The Friends We Keep

"In The Grace Kelly Dress, Brenda Janowitz masterfully explores how three generations of women bring their own personal histories to a family heirloom wedding dress. This beautiful and poignant novel makes us ponder what invisible threads unite us and what textures will always be our own. A truly wonderful read!"
--ALYSON RICHMAN, international bestselling author of The Lost Wife and The Secret of Clouds

"A poignant and delicious novel about how a dress can define a family, and how family can lovingly reinvent itself. Told with Brenda Janowitz's characteristic humor and insight, The Grace Kelly Dress is a winner."
--LAURA DAVE, bestselling author of Eight Hundred Grapes

"Janowitz's latest is just like the multi-generational wedding dress of the title: elegant, layered, and utterly original. She once again delivers a powerful story brimming with love."
--FIONA DAVIS, bestselling author of The Chelsea Girls

"In The Grace Kelly Dress, Brenda Janowitz seams together a delicate and beautiful story of family, love, fate, and yes, fashion. Fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner should say 'yes' to this tale of three generations of women whose lives are touched by one iconic dress. I loved it!"
--JAMIE BRENNER, bestselling author of The Forever Summer and Drawing Home

"A charming and warm novel that deserves to be passed from daughter to mother to grandmother."
--The Augusta Chronicle