The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
William Morrow & Company
Publish Date
Pages
400
Dimensions
5.9 X 8.7 X 1.2 inches | 0.95 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062674951

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jennifer Robson is the USA Today and #1 Toronto Globe & Mail bestselling author of Somewhere in France, After the War is Over and Moonlight Over Paris. She holds a doctorate from Saint Antony's College, University of Oxford. She lives in Toronto with her husband and young children.

Reviews

"A moving story about the power of female friendship and renewal in the face of adversity. Like the good luck sprig of heather hidden amid the embroidery on Princess Elizabeth's wedding dress, this story promises secrets and lives that bloom in unlikely ways. Perfect for fans of The Crown!"--Lauren Willig, author of The English Wife
"Embroidering a magical moment in royal history, Robson tells a heartrending story of friendship, loss, love, and redemption."--Leslie Carroll, author of American Princess: The Love Story of Meghan Markle and Prince Harry
"Jennifer Robson embroiders life, friendship, and hope into the somber gray world of post-war London... The Gown is marvelous and moving, a vivid portrait of female self-reliance in a world racked by the cost of war."--Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network
"In The Gown, Jennifer Robson illuminates with her signature meticulous historical detail and sure voice the story behind Queen Elizabeth's wedding dress... an unforgettable story of friendship, hardship and hope. Robson has managed to craft a story that is personal and universal, timely and timeless. The Gown soars!"--Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Orphan's Tale
"A story of friendship, family bonds, and courage, The Gown is the ideal read for fans of historical fiction and royal watchers alike!"
--Brenda Janowitz, author of The Dinner Party
"Told through the eyes of three compelling women, The Gown is a heartwarming story of friendship, resilience, and the power of heirlooms to connect people through generations, sometimes in the most unexpected ways."
--Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author of The Edge of Lost and Sold on a Monday
"Robson vividly brings to life these three women's struggles. Historical details about fabric, embroidery, and the royal family are well incorporated into their stories, with light romance rounding out this charming work of historical fiction."--Library Journal
"Robson's novel shifts deftly between... Toronto to London in 2016... giving meticulous attention to the historical detail of post-World War II London. A fascinating glimpse into the world of design, the healing power of art, and the importance of women's friendships."
--Kirkus Reviews
Jennifer Robson delivers a satisfying multigenerational epic linked by the intricate embroidery used on Princess Elizabeth's wedding gown. Robson's meticulous attention to historical details--notably the intricacies of the embroidery work--is a wonderful complement to the memorable stories of Ann and Milly, making for a winning, heartwarming tale. --Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"Robson deftly weaves issues of class, trauma, romance, and female friendship with satisfying details of Ann and Miriam's craft. This unique take on the royal wedding will be an easy sell to fans of Netflix's The Crown and a sure bet for readers of women-centered historical fiction."--Booklist (starred review)
"A celebration of strength, resilience, and friendship, The Gown transports readers as Robson offers a richly detailed and meticulously researched glimpse of daily life in post-war Britain. An enchanting must-read for historical fiction fans!"--Chanel Cleeton, author of Next Year in Havana
"A treat."--People
"For fans of "The Crown," looking for history served up as intimate drama, and those seeking another angle on royal lives, "The Gown" seems likely to dazzle and delight.--Washington Post
"Jennifer Robson's novel is a behind-the-scenes look at the creation of Elizabeth's gorgeous wedding gown and its talented embroiderers. It tells of three generations of women overcoming adversity, and honors the strengthening power of friendship and art. It's a charming and romantic novel with style and substance."--Christian Science Monitor
"...one of the most fun books you'll read this year."--Women's Day