The Good Luck Girls

By Charlotte Nicole Davis

Available

Description

Westworld meets The Handmaid's Tale in this stunning fantasy adventure from debut author Charlotte Nicole Davis.

Aster, the protector
Violet, the favorite
Tansy, the medic
Mallow, the fighter
Clementine, the catalyst

THE GOOD LUCK GIRLS

The country of Arketta calls them Good Luck Girls--they know their luck is anything but.

Sold to a "welcome house" as children and branded with cursed markings.

Trapped in a life they would never have chosen.

When Clementine accidentally kills a man, the girls risk a dangerous escape and harrowing journey to find freedom, justice, and revenge in a country that wants them to have none of those things. Pursued by Arketta's most vicious and powerful forces, both human and inhuman, their only hope lies in a bedtime story passed from one Good Luck Girl to another, a story that only the youngest or most desperate would ever believe.

It's going to take more than luck for them all to survive.

Product Details

Price: $17.98  $16.54
Publisher: Tor Teen
Published Date: October 01, 2019
Pages: 352
Dimensions: 5.8 X 1.2 X 8.5 inches | 0.9 pounds
ISBN: 9781250299703
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

A graduate of The New School's Writing for Children MFA program, CHARLOTTE NICOLE DAVIS loves comic book movies and books with maps in the front. She currently lives in Brooklyn with a cat with a crooked tail. The Good Luck Girls is her debut novel.

Reviews

"Don't underestimate the girls in the Arkettan welcome houses because you might just lose your life. Davis' The Good Luck Girls is a dust-filled, bloody fairytale set in a menacing world haunted with the reminder--the price of freedom is high, but it's worth fighting for at all costs. Rise up, teen readers!" --Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Belles

"This one is a winner."--Kirkus (starred review)

"This first installment in a new fantasy adventure is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo's Six of Crows and Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale. ...Teen readers will devour this romp set in a fantastical Wild West-style world, filled with a diverse cast of strong female leads." --School Library Journal

"This dystopian debut is deeply connected to today's social issues, and readers will feel that impact." --Booklist

"Davis creates institutions, systems, and power dynamics with real-world echoes, making the themes timely and resonant " --Publishers Weekly

"The gunslinging, hard-riding action of a classic Western is balanced against heavy but effective commentary on class and gender to make a story that is by turns heart pounding and thought-provoking." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books