The Girl Who Thought in Pictures: The Story of Dr. Temple Grandin

Julia Finley Mosca (Author) Daniel Rieley (Illustrator)
Available

Description

NSTA Best STEM Books for K-12 Selection
NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Books Selection
Dolly Gray Children's Literature Award Recipient
A Mighty Girl Book of the Year

If you've ever felt different, if you've ever been low, if you don't quite fit in, there's a name you should know... Meet Dr. Temple Grandin--one of the world's quirkiest science heroes!

When young Temple was diagnosed with autism, no one expected her to talk, let alone become one of the most powerful voices in modern science. Yet, the determined visual thinker did just that. Her unique mind allowed her to connect with animals in a special way, helping her invent groundbreaking improvements for farms around the globe.

In hardcover, The Girl Who Thought in Pictures: The Story of Dr. Temple Grandin was the first book in the educational Amazing Scientists series about the inspirational lives of amazing scientists. In addition to the illustrated rhyming tale, you'll find a complete biography, fun facts, a colorful timeline of events, and even a note from Temple herself!

Product Details

Price
$9.95  $9.15
Publisher
Innovation Press
Publish Date
March 05, 2019
Pages
40
Dimensions
9.5 X 0.2 X 9.5 inches | 0.5 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781943147618

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Julia Finley Mosca is a copywriter and former journalist who spent more than a decade in Hollywood crafting messages for money. After working with such recognizable brands as Entertainment Tonight, Yahoo!, American Greetings, and JibJab, she landed her most rewarding job yet--mom to one ferociously curious and spunky little girl. The Amazing Scientists series marks Mosca's debut into the magical world of children's books.

Daniel Rieley is a British freelance illustrator based in Lisbon. After studying at The Arts Institute Bournemouth, taking an epic backpacking adventure in Australia, and working three years in London, he decided to take off to sunny Portugal. For the last two years, Rieley has been working on several illustration projects in advertising, print, card design, and children's picture books. When Rieley is not drawing you can probably find him trying to catch waves, taking photos with old cameras, or playing his newly discovered sport Padel.

Reviews

NSTA Best STEM Books for K-12 Selection
NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Books Selection
Dolly Gray Children's Literature Award Recipient
A Mighty Girl Book of the YearUSBBY Outstanding Books for Young People with Disabilities Award List Selection 2018
Black-Eyed Susan Picture Book Award Nominee 2018-2019


"Rhyming verse and appealing cartoon illustrations capture Grandin's spirit while providing an exciting, informative look at her remarkable life. Invaluable back matter contains a letter from Temple, fun facts, a time line accompanied by family photographs, and an insightful biography....this is the first volume in a promising new series introducing readers to remarkable women in the sciences."--School Library Journal
"The author speaks directly and inclusively...this is an effective, age-appropriate introduction to a remarkable person."--Kirkus Reviews
"I'm really digging this new picture book bio series, Amazing Scientists! Lower word count, rhyming text, and sweet illustrations make them accessible to even the youngest reader/listener. More importantly, they profile still living women scientists & doctors who persevered against the odds, pursued their passions, and became leaders in their fields."--Kathleen Carey, Bookseller at Book House of Stuyvesant Plaza
"Think of this as a real-life Rosie Revere Engineer or Ada Twist Scientist! Refreshing to see a kids' picture book biography about someone I hadn't known previously."--Tegan Tigani, Children's Book Seller at Queen Anne Bookstore
"Fans of Andrea Beaty's Rosie Revere, Engineer (2013), or anyone who has struggled over feeling different, will appreciate this approachable biography of a inspiring scientist."--Booklist