The Gilded Ones #2: The Merciless Ones

Available

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.73
Publisher
Delacorte Press
Publish Date
Pages
464
Dimensions
5.9 X 8.3 X 1.8 inches | 1.23 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781984848727

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Namina Forna is the author of the instant New York Times bestseller The Gilded Ones, the first book in the epic fantasy trilogy. She has a MFA in film and TV production from USC School of Cinematic Arts and a BA from Spelman College. She now works as a screenwriter in LA and loves telling stories with fierce female leads. Visit her on twitter at @NaminaForna and on Instagram at @namina.forna.

Reviews

This action-packed sequel is even more thrilling than the first.--Buzzfeed

Catch up now before Forna's planned trilogy is turned into the next major movie franchise.--E! Online

The second installment in Namina Forma's West African-inspired fantasy series, this follow-up to The Gilded Ones doubles down on what made its predecessor so good: The rich, thoroughly lived-in world building full of details that are so unlike almost everything else in this genre space.--Paste

★ This book shimmers like gold. Add it to your library shelves to dazzle voracious readers.--School Library Journal, starred review

Praise for The Gilded Ones

"Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA fantasy." --Refinery 29

"Fans of Children of Blood and Bone, Mulan, and the Dora Milaje from Black Panther are going to adore this one." --BuzzFeed

"The girls are powerful, the danger is real, and the characters are engaging and diverse. Forna has accomplished something really special here, equal parts subversive and fun." --Tor

"Namina Forna introduces readers to an intricate, West African-inspired fantasy world."--POPSUGAR

"Total book candy for fans of Tomi Ayedemi's Children of Blood and Bone." --PureWow

A dark feminist tale spun with blood and gold, The Gilded Ones lifts the veil of violent patriarchy and burns the idea of purity to the ground. Must read! --Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times Bestselling author of The Belles

"Haunting, brutal, and oh-so-relevant. This book will suck you into a world where girls bleed gold, magic fills the air, and the real monsters hide behind words instead of claws." --Roseanne A. Brown, New York Times bestselling author of A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

"An enthralling debut. The Gilded Ones redefines sisterhood and is sure to leave readers both inspired and ultimately hopeful. --Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

"The Gilded Ones is a fierce, unflinching fantasy that marks Forna as a debut to watch." --Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken

Phenomenal and extraordinary! Forna's breathtaking use of language depicts a thrilling journey through an epic world, rife with danger and deception, as an obedient girl survives the patriarchy and becomes a warrior. Unquestionably, the best fantasy of 2021. --Kim Johnson, author of This is My America

"An epic new fantasy with heart-stopping stakes and a fierce, persevering hero, The Gilded Ones is a dazzling and powerful debut." --Elizabeth Lim, bestselling author of Spin the Dawn

"A poignant examination of patriarchal oppression that ensnares its reader and doesn't let go. With a compelling main character and fresh magic system, it takes you on a journey of self-discovery through a fantastically built world with a burning mystery at its heart." --Kalyn Josephson, author of The Storm Crow

"While elements of action and social justice are strong, there is also mystery . . . readers will find themselves awestruck with satisfying revelation, leaving both a clean ending and desire for more."
--Booklist, starred review