The Gallery of Unfinished Girls

Lauren Karcz (Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Description

A beautiful and evocative look at identity and creativity, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls is a stunning debut in magical realism. Perfect for fans of The Walls Around Us and Bone Gap.

Mercedes Moreno is an artist. At least, she thinks she could be, even though she hasn't been able to paint anything worthwhile in the past year.

Her lack of inspiration might be because her abuela is in a coma. Or the fact that Mercedes is in love with her best friend, Victoria, but is too afraid to admit her true feelings.

Despite Mercedes's creative block, art starts to show up in unexpected ways. A piano appears on her front lawn one morning, and a mysterious new neighbor invites Mercedes to paint with her at the Red Mangrove Estate.

At the Estate, Mercedes can create in ways she hasn't ever before. But Mercedes can't take anything out of the Estate, including her new-found clarity. Mercedes can't live both lives forever, and ultimately she must choose between this perfect world of art and truth and a much messier reality.

"A dreamy and subtle work of art, The Gallery of Unfinished Girls explores love, family, and the maddening, magical drive to create art."--Adi Alsaid, author of Let's Get Lost

--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Product Details

Price
$17.99
Publisher
Harperteen
Publish Date
July 25, 2017
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.8 X 1.2 X 8.4 inches | 0.9 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062467775
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

Reviews

"A dreamy and subtle work of art, THE GALLERY OF UNFINISHED GIRLS explores love, family, and the maddening, magical drive to create art."--Adi Alsaid, author of Let's Get Lost
"Francesca Lia Block fans will be right at home with this mix of magical realism, girl power self-actualization, and the concept that family can be both biological and found, and they'll likely keep an eye out to see what this debut author will do next."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"The novel's mix of self-discovery, art making, and the unknown should resonate with fans of A.S. King's work."--Publishers Weekly
"bold debut"--Booklist