The Future of the Past

Available

Product Details

Price
$41.99
Publisher
Oxford University Press, USA
Publish Date
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.27 X 8.05 X 1.18 inches | 1.02 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780195069037

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author


C. Vann Woodward is Sterling Professor of History Emeritus at Yale University. He is the author of many books, including The Battle for Leyte Gulf, The Burden of Southern History, and Reunion and Reaction.

Reviews


"The Future of the Past, then, is Woodward the essayist in the tradition of Montaigne and Addison and Steele....Woodward...is still classier than the rest of us at our very best."--John Herbert Roper, The Journal of Southern History


"Woodward is a historian who knows what he thinks, and has known it for a long time. And the vision is compelling....These essays show a devoted attention to and care for the discipline of history, which he has served well."--The Journal of American History


"The essays of this tough-minded scholar are imbued with a generosity of spirit toward those with whom he takes issue and a charmingly self-depracatory attitude towards his own importance....Yet for all his genial comportment and engaging wit, Vann Woodward is a very serious man, for he believes strongly in the contribution that the historian can and should make to the humanistic enterprise of helping us understand ourselves and our times."--The Atlantic


"Few, if any American historians have achieved Woodward's imaginative ability to view the South, or the United States, from the other side of the globe: to see whites from a non-white perspective; to get to the soul and inner tensions of Tom Watson or Mary Chesnut."--The New York Review of Books


"These essays confirm the skill and good judgment of this subtle and profound scholar....In Woodward's hands, history remains an exciting venture. Highly recommended."--Library Journal