The Forbidden Garden

Ellen Herrick (Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Description

"Captivating ...] Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love." --Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader and The Fifth Petal

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, comes a lush imaginative novel that takes readers into the heart of a mysterious English country garden, waiting to spring to life.

Every garden is a story, waiting to be told...

At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate.

Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried--and failed--to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment. Intrigued by the house's history--especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls--and increasingly drawn to Stella's enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden's destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets...

--Heather Young, author of The Lost Girls

Product Details

Price
$15.99
Publisher
William Morrow & Company
Publish Date
April 04, 2017
Pages
400
Dimensions
5.3 X 0.9 X 8.0 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062499950
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Ellen Herrick was a publishing professional in New York City. After nearly twenty years in London, Ellen now divides her time between her gardens in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and a small Cape Cod town.

Reviews

"The Forbidden Garden is a romantic, big-hearted novel that celebrates femininity in all its nurturing, resilient, and fearless power."--Heather Young, author of The Lost Girls
"Readers who loved Alice Hoffman's Practical Magic and Audrey Niffenegger's Time Traveler's Wife, are in for a wonderful treat with Ellen Herrick's lovely new novel."--M.J. Rose, New York Times bestselling author
"In this captivating read, Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love."--Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader and The Fifth Petal
"[...] Sorrel's rapport with the plants and garden and the powers they possess will resonate with those who enjoy stories of drawing strength from the land. Recommend this to readers of Sarah Addison Allen, Kate Morton, and Vanessa Diffenbaugh."--Booklist
"In the spirit of the film Practical Magic, based on the novel by Alice Hoffman, mixed with a mesmerizing gardening book, this enchanted, romantic story will be savored..."--Library Journal