The First Sister, Volume 1

Linden A. Lewis (Author)
Pre-Order   Ships Aug 04, 2020

Description

Combining the social commentary of The Handmaid's Tale with the white-knuckled thrills of Red Rising, this epic space opera follows a comfort woman as she claims her agency, a soldier questioning his allegiances, and a non-binary hero out to save the solar system.

First Sister has no name and no voice. As a priestess of the Sisterhood, she travels the stars alongside the soldiers of Earth and Mars--the same ones who own the rights to her body and soul. When her former captain abandons her, First Sister's hopes for freedom are dashed when she is forced to stay on her ship with no friends, no power, and a new captain--Saito Ren--whom she knows nothing about. She is commanded to spy on Captain Ren by the Sisterhood, but soon discovers that working for the war effort is so much harder to do when you're falling in love.

Lito val Lucius climbed his way out of the slums to become an elite soldier of Venus, but was defeated in combat by none other than Saito Ren, resulting in the disappearance of his partner, Hiro. When Lito learns that Hiro is both alive and a traitor to the cause, he now has a shot at redemption: track down and kill his former partner. But when he discovers recordings that Hiro secretly made, Lito's own allegiances are put to the test. Ultimately, he must decide between following orders and following his heart.

A stunning and sweeping debut novel that explores the power of technology, colonization, race, and gender, The First Sister is perfect for fans of James S.A. Corey, Chuck Wendig, and Margaret Atwood.

Product Details

Price
$26.00  $23.40
Publisher
Skybound Books
Publish Date
August 04, 2020
Pages
352
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781982126995

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Linden A. Lewis is a queer writer and world wanderer currently living in Madrid with a couple of American cats who have little kitty passports. Tall and tattooed, and the author of The First Sister, Linden exists only because society has stopped burning witches.

Reviews

"Lewis's The First Sister is a ferocious mix of energetic plotting and vivid characters. Ridiculously readable."--April Genevieve Tucholke, author of The Boneless Mercies "Publishers Weekly"
"Lewis skillfully handles the tale's many moving pieces, maintaining pace, nuance, and clarity throughout. Lewis's lush prose creates an immersive, richly textured world with complex social dynamics and solid LGBTQ and multicultural representation..."-- "Publishers Weekly"
"Debut of the month... A layered, action-filled plot and diverse characters create a powerful entry into the space opera genre."--April Genevieve Tucholke, author of The Boneless Mercies "Library Journal"