The Favorite Daughter (Original)

Kaira Rouda (Author)
Available

Description

Will hit you right in the heart" -- Bustle

A PopSugar Best Book of Spring!

"An exceptional psychological thriller." --
Publishers Weekly STARRED review

"Compulsively readable and deeply satisfying psychological suspense." -- Cristina Alger, USA TODAY betselling author of The Banker's Wife

"Leaves you wanting more." -- Liv Constantine, author of the national bestseller
The Last Mrs. Parrish

"A smart, wickedly plotted psychological thriller brimming with dark surprises" -- Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author

"Intense, creepy, and classic Rouda. A chilling story, told so well. Don't miss it!" -- J. T. Ellison,
New York Times bestselling author

"B.A. Paris and Shari Lapena fans will fall head over heels for this suspenseful psychological thriller set in an upscale Southern California community." -PopSugar

"The
Gone Girl-style domestic suspense novel follows Jane, a narcissistic perfectionist dealing with the death of her daughter." -- Washington Post

"Rouda's portrayal of Jane is fabulously compelling and darkly hilarious...The resolution is satisfying, but the ride is so diabolically twisted and entertaining that readers will be sorry when it come to a stop." -Shelf Awareness

"No one creates a narcissist like Rouda.... A
wow read that will have you floored." -Bookstr

"This is a page-turning story with lots of twists and turns. A psychological thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat right up to the last word. A great summer read." -Red Carpet Crash

"
The Favorite Daughter has a very Stepford Wives feel to it, but with a twist.... We have seen countless thrillers featuring evil husbands and manipulative wives, but to villainize a mother requires a keen psychological understanding of the world and some flawless characterizations. Fortunately, for me and all the other favorite daughters out there, Rouda has both." -20SomethingReads

"Jane Harris is an compelling and complicated main character...Author Kaira Rouda has big talent when it comes to writing unreliable narrators...[Y]ou will be hooked and won't be able to put this fast paced and chilling title down. Bravo to Kaira for another fantastic read!" -Orange County Readers

From the author of Best Day Ever, another gripping novel of psychological suspense set in an upscale Southern California community, for fans of B.A. Paris and Shari Lapena.

The perfect home. The perfect family. The perfect lie.

Jane Harris lives in a sparkling home in an oceanfront gated community in Orange County. It's a place that seems too beautiful to be touched by sadness. But exactly one year ago, Jane's oldest daughter, Mary, died in a tragic accident and Jane has been grief-stricken ever since. Lost in a haze of anti-depressants, she's barely even left the house. Now that's all about to change.

It's time for Jane to reclaim her life and her family. Jane's husband, David, has planned a memorial service for Mary and three days later, their youngest daughter, Betsy, graduates high school. Yet as Jane reemerges into the world, it's clear her family has changed without her. Her husband has been working long days--and nights--at the office. Her daughter seems distant, even secretive. And her beloved Mary was always such a good girl--dutiful and loving. But does someone know more about Mary, and about her last day, than they've revealed?

The bonds between mothers and daughters, and husbands and wives should never be broken. But you never know how far someone will go to keep a family together...

Product Details

Price
$26.99  $24.83
Publisher
Graydon House
Publish Date
May 21, 2019
Pages
368
Dimensions
6.3 X 1.2 X 9.3 inches | 1.1 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781525835148
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author


Kaira Rouda is a USA TODAY bestselling, multiple award-winning author of contemporary fiction that explores what goes on beneath the surface of seemingly perfect lives. Her domestic suspense novel, Best Day Ever, is a USA TODAY bestseller translated into more than eight languages. Her new novel, The Favorite Daughter, is available now. She lives in Washington, D.C., and Southern California and is at work on her next novel.

Reviews

"[An] exceptional psychological thriller...Suspense fans will be amply rewarded." --Publishers Weekly starred review

"My favorite of Kaira Rouda's books so far. I took it down in two afternoons. Compulsively readable and deeply satisfying psychological suspense." --Cristina Alger, USA TODAY betselling author of The Banker's Wife

"A chilling glimpse behind the façade of the perfect family that leaves you wanting more." --Liv Constantine, author of the national bestseller The Last Mrs. Parrish

"A smart, wickedly plotted psychological thriller brimming with dark surprises...At the top of her game, Rouda and The Favorite Daughter will have you flying through the pages deep into the night." --Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author

"Intense, creepy, and classic Rouda. A chilling story, told so well. Don't miss it!" --J. T. Ellison, New York Times bestselling author

"Alfred Hitchcock meets Patricia Highsmith in this masterful novel of psychological suspense. Quietly horrifying, tightly wound and diabolical, The Favorite Daughter is a stunning page-turner." --A. J. Banner, USA TODAY and #1 Amazon bestselling author

"Smart, surprising, and 100% satisfying." --Kimberly Belle, nationally bestselling author

"Right up my dark, twisty alley. A beguiling narrative and a deliciously creepy perspective." --Wendy Corsi Staub, New York Times bestselling author

"A roller coaster of a ride that will have you twisting and turning. Just when you think you know what happens, the plot pivots once more--leaving you guessing until the very end!" --Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke, bestselling authors