The Falling Woman

Richard Farrell (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$26.95  $24.79
Publisher
Algonquin Books
Publish Date
June 23, 2020
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.3 X 1.3 inches | 0.95 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781616208578

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Richard Farrell is a graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy and a former pilot who holds an MFA in writing from Vermont College of Fine Arts. His work has appeared in Hunger Mountain, upstreet, New Plains Review, Potomac Review, Descant, and elsewhere. Originally from Worcester, Massachusetts, he teaches creative writing at Grossmont College in San Diego, where he lives with his wife and two children. This is his first novel.

Reviews

"Former pilot Farrell's skillfully written story of hope, love, and regret contemplated amid a fast-paced, high-pressure major airline accident investigation will appeal to readers who enjoyed Michael Crichton's Airframe, Gregg Hurwitz's The Survivor, and Noah Hawley's Before the Fall."
--Library Journal

"[A] solid debut . . . Farrell's thoughtful novel calls to mind the heights of Rafael Yglesias's Fearless."
--Publishers Weekly

"An intriguing story given weight by its examination of what it means to be faithful."
--Booklist

"The Falling Woman is a thoughtful, intelligent, and meticulously crafted novel about expectations and choices, tragedies and miracles, limitations and freedom. I enjoyed every page; it is a gem."
--T. Greenwood, author of Keeping Lucy

"A stunning debut, The Falling Woman kept me riveted to the very last page. Without sacrificing an ounce of suspense, Farrell manages to ask the big questions about life and love. This is a novel that is perfect for book clubs."
--Thomas Greene, author of The Perfect Liar and The Housemaster's Wife

"The Falling Woman is the kind of novel I like best: a page-turning glimpse into a world I have always been curious about (an investigation of a commercial airline accident) combined with great writing, great plotting and a thoughtful plumbing of what makes us human--with a twist at the end. Highly recommended."
--B.A. Shapiro, author of The Collector's Apprentice

"What would you do if you were confronted with a miracle? That is the essential question posed in The Falling Woman, a surprisingly spiritual novel about a plane crash. Two people entwined in the investigation, both in desperate need of hope--and a true home--grapple with an answer, which may prove as perilous as the catastrophe. Part mystery and part prayer, this page turner about mortality is iridescent. I loved it."
--Robin Oliveira, author of Winter Sisters