The Escape Artist

Helen Fremont (Author) Gabra Zackman (Read by)
Available

Description

A luminous family memoir from the author of the critically acclaimed Boston Globe bestseller, After Long Silence, lauded as "mesmerizing" (The Washington Post Book World), "extraordinary" (The Philadelphia Inquirer), and "a triumphant work of art" (Publishers Weekly, starred review).In the tradition of Alison Bechdel's Fun Home or George Hodgman's Bettyville, Fremont writes with wit and candor about growing up in a household held together by a powerful glue: secrets. Her parents, profoundly affected by their memories of the Holocaust, pass on, to both Helen and her older sister, a penchant for keeping their lives neatly, even obsessively compartmentalized, and a zealous determination to protect themselves from what they see as danger from the outside world. She delves deeply into the family dynamic that produced such a startling devotion to secret keeping, beginning with the painful and unexpected discovery that she has been disinherited in her mother's will. In scenes that are frank, moving, and often surprisingly funny, Fremont writes about growing up in such an intemperate household, with parents who pretended to be Catholics but were really Jews--survivors of Nazi-occupied Poland. She shares tales of family therapy sessions, disordered eating, her sister's frequently unhinged meltdowns, and her own romantic misadventures as she tries to sort out her sexual identity. In a family devoted to hiding the truth, Fremont learns the truth is the one thing that can set you free. Scorching, witty, and ultimately redemptive, The Escape Artist is a powerful contribution to the memoir shelf.

Product Details

Price
$39.99  $35.99
Publisher
Simon & Schuster Audio
Publish Date
February 11, 2020
Dimensions
5.8 X 1.1 X 5.6 inches | 0.4 pounds
Language
English
Type
Compact Disc
EAN/UPC
9781797103129

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

In addition to The Escape Artist, Helen Fremont is the author of the national bestseller After Long Silence. Her works of fiction and nonfiction have appeared in numerous journals and anthologies, including Prize Stories: The O. Henry Awards, Ploughshares, and The Harvard Review. A graduate of the Warren Wilson MFA Program for Writers, she has been a teaching fellow at both Bread Loaf and the Radcliffe Institute. She worked as a public defender in Boston, where she now lives with her wife. You can find Helen online at HelenFremont.com.

Gabra Zackman is an actress, author, and narrator who has won several AudioFile Earphones Awards. She was educated at Northwestern University. A classically trained actress, she has appeared in theaters all over the country as well as on film and television.

Reviews

"The Escape Artist does what the best memoirs do by forcing readers out of their own comfy shoes and into those of another human being."

-- "Richard Russo, Pulitzer Prize-winning author"