The Emperor of Ocean Park

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$14.95
Publisher
Vintage
Publish Date
May 27, 2003
Pages
672
Dimensions
5.1 X 1.2 X 7.9 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780375712920
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Stephen L. Carter is the William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Law at Yale University, where he has taught since 1982. He is the author of seven acclaimed nonfiction books, including The Culture of Disbelief and Civility. He lives with his wife and children near New Haven, Connecticut.

Reviews

"Beautifully written and cleverly plotted. A rich, complex family saga, one deftly woven through a fine legal thriller." --John Grisham"Rich, rewarding and compelling.... Transports readers into a different world and creates characters that resonate long after you've finished it." --USA Today "Full of energy...high-spirited and fleet of foot.... This novel...lives on the page.... It's not much of an exaggeration to think that in Stephen Carter the black upper class has found its Dreiser." -- The New York Times Book Review "A remarkable debut novel.... A rare look into the world of wealthy and established black families.... One is at a loss to name another book...that has sought to convey, with such clarity, such depth of understanding or such cultural analysis, the uniqueness of this experience." --Los Angeles Times Book Review"A thrilling entertainment." --Newsday "Rich, rewarding and compelling.... Transports readers into a different world and creates characters that resonate long after you've finished it." --USA Today "A delightful, sprawling, gracefully written, imaginative work, with sharply delineated characters who dwell in a fully realized narrative world." --New York Review of Books "A dense, dark legal thriller.... Talcott's clear-eyed observations of his peers, both white and black, give Emperor a social conscience that most books of its ilk lack." --Time"Closely observed, often affecting.... Written with easy authority...nimble...satiric.... Persuasive." --The New York Times"A thriller as heady as it is hefty.... Using...wry descriptions of place, power and privilege, Carter keeps attitude spinning.... With Emperor, Carter fills the gap between intrigue and intelligence." --People "Carter writes powerfully about such virtues as love, faith and forgiveness...and offers a strong commentary on race as seen through the relationships between his characters." --Philadelphia Inquirer"An admirable debut.... Mr. Carter's storytelling skills are impressive." --Wall Street Journal"The Emperor of Ocean Park is an outstanding work of fiction.... Masterfully developed.... A gripping story." --Newark Sunday Star-Ledger"[Carter] has shed an unblinking eye on an area of race and culture conspicuously absent in popular fiction." --Miami Herald"A light thriller for the beach; a wicked satire of academic politics; a stinging exposΓ© of the judicial confirmation process; a trenchant analysis of racial progress in America." --The Christian Science Monitor