Drowning Ground

James Marrison (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$36.99  $34.03
Publisher
St. Martin's Press
Publish Date
August 25, 2015
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.7 X 1.3 X 8.5 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250054197

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

JAMES MARRISON is a journalist with a Master's degree in history, specializing in American Secret Intelligence, from the University of Edinburgh in Scotland. Marrison was a regular contributor to Bizarre magazine in the UK, where he wrote about true crime, and he also wrote for an English language newspaper in Buenos Aires, Argentina, where he now lives. The Drowning Ground is his first novel.

Reviews

"With an intricate plot with numerous twists and an intriguing cop with a complex history, Marrison rivets the reader straight through to the novel's chilling conclusion. An author to watch, [Marrison] scores high with this impressive debut." --Richmond Times-Dispatch

"Something wicked is afoot in Marrison's tense debut, set in the quiet picturesque villages of the English Cotswolds. . . . Marrison, who was educated at the University of Edinburgh and now lives in Buenos Aires, expertly evokes a sense of place through descriptions of Cotswolds life. [Chief Inspector Guillermo] Downes's reminiscences of his Argentinian heritage lend color. The highly unusual denouement will catch most readers by surprise." --Publishers Weekly

"Marrison leaves just enough unexplained about his shrewd, moody protagonist to make you hope he'll return in a sequel." --Kirkus Reviews

"Downes is an intriguing fish-out-of-water detective...Marrison's well-plotted mystery debut may appeal to fans of Elizabeth George and Peter Robinson." --Booklist

"An intriguing debut....Taut and told with panache." --The Daily Mail