The Digger and the Flower

Joseph Kuefler (Author)
Available

Description

From the acclaimed author/artist of Beyond the Pond and Rulers of the Playground comes a breathtaking new book with a powerful message about the environment, perfect for fans of Peter Brown's The Curious Garden and Kadir Nelson's If You Plant a Seed.

Each day, the big trucks go to work. They scoop and hoist and push.

But when Digger discovers something growing in the rubble, he sets in motion a series of events that will change him, and the city, forever.

This story contains bold graphic illustrations and a wonderful message about the environment, proclaims Brightly in their article 18 Must-Read Picture Books of 2018.

--Publishers Weekly

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publish Date
January 23, 2018
Pages
48
Dimensions
10.3 X 0.5 X 10.0 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062424334
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Joseph Kuefler is the author-illustrator of The Digger and the Flower, Beyond the Pond, and Rulers of the Playground. He lives in Minnesota with his wife and children. You can visit him online at www.josephkuefler.com.

Reviews

Praise for RULERS OF THE PLAYGROUND: "[A] playful lesson in camaraderie and social etiquette"--Booklist
Praise for BEYOND THE POND: "[A] tale of transformation and wonder...reminiscent of Sendak's Max and his Wild Things."--School Library Journal
Praise for BEYOND THE POND: "This lovely picture book is a tribute to imagination and the wonder in everyday spaces...will resonate with young readers."--Booklist
Praise for RULERS OF THE PLAYGROUND: "Children struggling with tyrants (or the impulse to dictate) will find both laughter and comfort in Kuefler's playground, full of recognizable experiences, faces, and feelings....winning satire for the jungle-gym set."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Praise for BEYOND THE POND: "A witty, auspicious debut...[with] echoes of Jon Klassen and Wes Anderson."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"Kuefler imbues the text with the heart and soul of the best storytime fare... One couldn't hope for a better tale of rebirth and regeneration"--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"The image of the clunky piece of construction equipment tenderly caring for the fragile plant gives the story charm, and so do its strong, simple images."--Publishers Weekly
"Kuefler's simply written and beautifully illustrated tale has a powerful message about the importance of the environment...A wonderful, inspiring tale, perfect for read-alouds."
--School Library Journal (starred review)