The Devil's Slave

Available

Product Details

Price
$27.00  $24.84
Publisher
Atlantic Monthly Press
Publish Date
Pages
432
Dimensions
6.2 X 9.1 X 1.5 inches | 1.45 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780802129451

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Tracy Borman is England's joint Chief Curator of Historic Royal Palaces and Chief Executive of the Heritage Education Trust. She is the author of a number of highly acclaimed books including Henry VIII and the Men Who Made Him; The Private Lives of the Tudors: Uncovering the Secrets of Britain's Greatest Dynasty; Thomas Cromwell: The Untold Story of Henry VIII's Most Faithful Servant; Queen of the Conqueror: The Life of Matilda, Wife of William I; Elizabeth's Women: Friends, Rivals, and Foes Who Shaped the Virgin Queen; Witches: A Tale of Sorcery, Scandal and Seduction; as well as the novel The King's Witch. Borman is also a regular broadcaster and public speaker.
tracyborman.co.uk
@tracyborman

Reviews

Praise for The Devil's Slave

"The pages turn briskly, apace with Frances's increasing bravery. Surprising revelations and a cliffhanger prepare us for Volume 3. As Borman's protagonist grows a spine, she's starting to grow on us."--Kirkus Reviews

Praise for The King's Witch

"A story weaved around real-life characters by an acclaimed historian . . . Vivid . . . Everything you would want to read in a novel, ranging from palatial royals and intrigues to betrayals to a love story . . . Knowledgeable and entertaining."--Washington Book Review, "Essential Novels for This Summer"

"The incredibly detailed and vivid narrative transports readers to a time when women were seen as no more than a commodity to be traded, and conspiracy loomed in every corner. This engaging page-turner is enhanced by flawless prose and an absorbing plot, making it a perfect choice for fans of historical fiction and post-Tudor England."--Library Journal (starred review)

"Borman lures readers into this first in a series of historical novels set during the reign of the Stuarts . . . [She] is an astute chronicler of 17th-century English life, keenly depicting the excesses of the court and the dangers of religious persecution. The vivid detail and effortless storytelling will appeal to many readers, particularly fans of historicals in the vein of Alison Weir and Philippa Gregory."--Publishers Weekly

"Historian Borman embeds a fictional character in the royal court of James I in her promising debut novel . . . By introducing Tom Wintour, a real-life figure, as Frances' love interest, Borman adds a little historical heft and a lot of spice to her tale. The action culminates with the Gunpowder Plot of 1605, as the stage is nicely set for volume two of this projected trilogy."--Booklist

"Tracy Borman's debut historical novel has it all: conspiracy, betrayal, dark intrigues, bloody deeds, a poignant love story--and the most famous plot in English history. In the debauched court of James I, nothing is as it seems, loyalties are torn, and danger is all around. At the centre of it all, Borman has created an engaging and courageous heroine, and her highly accomplished writing ensures that the reader is swept along to a shattering and shocking climax."--Alison Weir, author of The Six Wives of Henry VIII

"Exquisitely written, sumptuous in detail and thrillingly plotted, The King's Witch takes you deep into the darkness of the early Jacobean Court and into the heart of the wonderful, unforgettable Lady Frances. The first of what promises to be a magnificent trilogy."--Kate Williams, author of Becoming Queen Victoria and Young Elizabeth: The Making of the Queen