The Devil in the Marshalsea

Antonia Hodgson (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$15.95
Publisher
Mariner Books
Publish Date
June 10, 2014
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.24 X 1.05 X 8.18 inches | 0.68 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780544176676

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

ANTONIA HODGSON is the editor in chief of Little, Brown UK. She lives in London and can see the last fragments of the old city wall from her living room. The Devil in the Marshalsea is her first novel.

Reviews

"A scenic intrigue filled with wastrels and gaols." --Vogue's "Buzziest Beach Reads""Alive and immediate. The story crackles with anxiety as Tom finally finds purpose for his idle hands, the true meaning of honor and the identity of the real devil in the Marshalsea." --Chicago Tribune"Historical fiction just doesn't get any better than this. A riveting, fast-paced story...Magnificent!" --Jeffery Deaver, author of the bestselling The Kill Room and Edge"Antonia Hodgson's London of 1727 offers that rare achievement in historical fiction: a time and place suspensefully different from our own, yet real. The Devil in the Marshalsea reminds us at every turn that we ourselves may not have evolved far from its world of debtors and creditors, crime and generosity, appetite and pathos. A damn'd good read." --Elizabeth Kostova, author of The Historian and The Swan Thieves"A wonderfully convincing picture of the seamier side of 18th-century life. The narrative whips along. Antonia Hodgson has a real feel for how people thought and spoke at the time--and, God knows, that's a rare talent." --Andrew Taylor, author of An Unpardonable Crime and The Four Last Things "It is the mesh of lies and duplicity that draws you into this brilliant first novel." --The Times (UK) "There are enough plot twists to fill an upturned three-corner hat and a cast of memorable and believable inmates, good and bad. This is a riveting historical thriller that's finely crafted and difficult to put down." --Daily Mail (UK) "Something new in the world of historical crim fiction, with mesmerising detail and atmosphere." --Financial Times (UK) "Splendid...Impeccably researched and astonishingly atmospheric, with time past evoked so strongly that one can almost smell it, this is a truly spellbinding tale." --The Guardian (UK) "Superbly written, historically accurate, always convincing and often quite chilling...A book to savour." --Crime Review (UK) "The plot develops almost as many intricate turns as there are passages in the Marshalsea...Hodgson's plotting is clever...the local color hair-raising." -Kirkus Reviews "[Hodgson] conjures up scenes of Dickensian squalor and marries them to a crackerjack plot, in her impressive first novel...Hodgson makes the stench, as well as the despair, almost palpable, besides expertly dropping fair clues. Fans of Iain Pears and Charles Palliser will hope for a sequel." --Publishers Weekly (STARRED REVIEW)"Satisfyingly twisty debut thriller...so well detailed that one can almost smell the corruption, and the irrepressibly roguish Tom makes a winning hero." --Booklist