The Devil and the Dark Water

Stuart Turton (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$26.99  $24.83
Publisher
Sourcebooks Landmark
Publish Date
October 06, 2020
Pages
480
Dimensions
6.0 X 9.1 X 1.7 inches | 1.4 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781728206028

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

STUART TURTON is a freelance journalist who lives in West London with his wife. Stuart is not to be trusted--in the nicest possible way. The 71/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is his first novel.

Reviews

"The Devil and the Dark Water is mind-bending, genre-bending, intricate, vivid, intelligent, and with one of the most gloriously grizzly cast of characters ever. An absolute razztwizzler of a novel." - Ali Land, author of Good Me, Bad Me
"An absolute treat from the most original voice in crime fiction." - Ragnar Jรณnasson, international bestselling author of Snowblind and The Island
"Stunningly good. A page-turning mystery on an epic scale, intricately plotted and expertly landed." - Simon Lelic, author of The Search Party
"[An] outstanding whodunit... Fans of impossible crime fiction won't want to miss this one."" - Publishers Weekly, STARRED Review
"A superb historical mystery: inventive, twisty, addictive and utterly beguiling. I fell for this book (and its characters) in a big way. Beautifully crafted escapism for fans of Sherlock and Master & Commander. A TRIUMPH." - Will Dean, author of Dark Pines
"A glorious mash-up of William Golding and Arthur Conan Doyle." - Val McDermid, #1 bestselling author
"The desperate life on board an Amsterdam-bound Dutch Indiamen has never been so vividly painted. Throw in a demon (who may or may not exist), a cast of beautifully realized, compelling characters, along with a series of locked room mysteries, and the result is one of the most extraordinary books being published this year." - M.W. Craven, author of The Puppet Show, winner of the 2019 CWA Gold Dagger Award 2019
"A devilish sea saga that never runs out of cutthroat conspiracies." - Kirkus Reviews, STARRED Review
"[A] rousing, action-filled mystery." - Booklist
"The locked room murder meets a Michael Bay movie, by way of Treasure Island; you can't know what's going on, if only because the author won't let you know until he's delivered the final surprise - and another one after that. The effect is irresistible." - The Guardian
"If you read one book this year, make sure it's this one." - Daily Mail
"And unlike most whodunits I wouldn't recommend it for pre-lights-out reading - not just because of the spooky bits, but because such a lovingly complex construct needs readers who are fully awake." - The Sunday Telegraph
"Turton has a fantastic time laying out the details of his intricate plot, leaving the reader wondering if it is something human or supernatural causing the devilry on the Saardam." - The Observer New Review
"An enjoyable throwback to the exaggeratedly intellectual plotting of Golden Age crime fiction." - Library Journal
"Compulsively readable...Perfect for readers who like a little occult with their mystery." - The New York Times Book Review
"The Devil and the Dark Water artfully combines intriguing characters, fascinating historical details and a seafaring labyrinth of twists and turns-not to mention a demon named Old Tom...History and mystery lovers alike will delight in the heart-racing escapades of The Devil and the Dark Water." - BookPage, STARRED Review