The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)

Available

Product Details

Price
$14.99  $13.79
Publisher
Amulet Books
Publish Date
Pages
176
Dimensions
5.6 X 8.1 X 0.7 inches | 0.65 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781419740794

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Kit Rosewater has a master's degree in children's literature from Hollins University. The Derby Daredevils is her debut book. She lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Sophie Escabasse is the author-illustrator of the forthcoming Witches of Brooklyn graphic-novel trilogy. She lives in Brooklyn with her family.

Reviews

**STARRED REVIEW**
"In her wonderful debut, Rosewater gives readers a look into the world of roller derby and what it entails, while depicting a relatable story of shifting young friendships... A great addition to juvenile sports fiction for school and public libraries. Perfect for fans of Victoria Jamieson's Roller Girl, and readers seeking stories about sports-loving girls supporting each other."-- "School Library Journal"
**STARRED REVIEW**
"This a great pick about fierce young ladies coming together though sports. The book has loads of action and plenty of heart, running with themes of friendship, being a good communicator, dealing with jealousy, and even a little sprinkle of how it feels to have a crush on someone you think is just the coolest person ever. Memorable characters and frequent illustrations bring the story to life and will make anyone want to get their derby on."-- "Booklist"
"A lighthearted celebration of life, friendship, and rolling with the punches."-- "Kirkus Reviews"
"Relatable, empathic series debut introduces readers to the fast-paced sport of roller derby and hints at interesting backstories for Kenzie's teammates."-- "Publishers Weekly"