The Dame Was Trouble

Kelley Armstrong (Author) Gail Bowen (Author)
& 1 more


A collection of Canadian Crime Fiction from the best and brightest female crime writers that the Great White North has to offer. From noir to hardboiled, and thriller to cozy mystery, these Dames know how to tell tales to thrill, chill and KILL.


Kelley Armstrong(#1 New York Timesbestselling author of Otherworld and the Nadia Staffordcrime trilogy)

Elle Wild(Arthur Ellis Award-winning author of Strange Things Done)

Hermine Robinson (Anthology of New Canadian Noir)

Pat Flewwelling (Author of theHelix series)

Melodie Campbell (Derringer and Arthur Ellis Award-winning author of The Goddaughterseries and Rowena Through the Wall)

S.G. Wong (Arthur Ellis and Whistler Independent Book Award nominated author of the Lola Stark novels )

Gail Bowen(Canada's "Queen of Crime", author of the best-selling Joanne Kilbournmysteries)

Darusha Wehm (Author of Beautiful Redand The Home for Wayward Parrots)

R.M. Greenaway (Arthur Ellis Award-winning author of Cold Girland Undertow)

Natalie Vacha (In Places Between; finalist in the CBC Radio Cowboy Poetry contest)

Susan MacGregor (Aurora Award nominated author of The Tattooed Witch trilogy)

Alice Bienia (Arthur Ellis Award nominated author of Knight Blind)

Meghan Victoria (Antigonish Review)

M.H. Callway (Dagger, Arthur Ellis and Bony Pete Award nominated author of Windigo Fire)

Sandra Ruttan(Author of Harvest of Ruins, What Burns Within and Suspicious)

Jayne Barnard (BPAA, Aurora and Dagger Award nominee and Arthur Ellis Award-winning author of Maddie Hatter and the Deadly Diamond andWhen the Flood Falls)

Edited by Sarah L. Johnson

With Halli Lilburne

And Cat MacDonald

Product Details

$16.99  $15.63
Coffin Hop Press
Publish Date
July 24, 2018
5.0 X 0.89 X 8.0 inches | 0.95 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Kelley Armstrong graduated with a degree in psychology and then studied computer programming. Now she is a full-time writer and parent, and she lives with her husband and three children in rural Ontario, Canada. She is the author of the Rockton mystery series featuring Detective Casey Duncan, which begins with City of the Lost, and the novel Wherever She Goes. She is the editor of the young adult anthology Life Is Short and Then You Die.
Canada's "Queen of Crime", Gail Bowen's first Joanne Kilbourn mystery, Deadly Appearances (1990), was nominated for the W.H. Smith/Books in Canada Best First Novel Award, and A Colder Kind of Death (1995) won the Arthur Ellis Award for best crime novel. The Winners' Circle, (2017) has been named a finalist for the Arthur Ellis Award for best crime novel as of this book's first printing. In 2008, Reader's Digest named Bowen "Canada's Best Mystery Novelist"; in 2009 she received the Derrick Murdoch Award; and in 2018 she was recognized with the Crime Writers of Canada's Grand Master Award. In 2018, she was invested with the Saskatchewan Order of Merit, the province's highest honour. Now retired from teaching at the First Nations University, Gail Bowen lives in Regina, Saskatchewan.
Sarah L. Johnson lives in Calgary where she's mastered the art of the writerly side-hustle, as a literary events coordinator, freelance editor, and creative writing teacher. She runs ultramarathons, does daily battle with curly hair, has a filthy mouth, and is the author of the short story collection Suicide Stitch: Eleven Tales (EMP Publishing) and Infractus (Coffin Hop Press). Her short fiction has appeared in numerous publications and anthologies.