The Consequences of Fear: A Maisie Dobbs Novel

Available

Product Details

Price
$27.99  $25.75
Publisher
Harper
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
6.2 X 8.9 X 1.5 inches | 1.1 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062868022

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jacqueline Winspear is the author of the New York Times bestsellers The Consequences of Fear, The American Agent, To Die but Once, In This Grave Hour, Journey to Munich, A Dangerous Place, Leaving Everything Most Loved, and Elegy for Eddie, as well as eight other bestselling Maisie Dobbs novels. Her standalone novel, The Care and Management of Lies, was also a New York Times bestseller, and a finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize. Winspear has won numerous prizes, including the Agatha, Alex, and Macavity awards for the first book in the series, Maisie Dobbs, which was also nominated for the Edgar Award for Best Novel and was named a New York Times Notable Book. Originally from the United Kingdom, she lives in California.

Reviews

"Over 16 novels spanning three decades, Winspear's Maisie Dobbs has lived. In real life, her quiet bravery, compassion and dogged pursuit of the truth would have made her one of the Greatest Generation, a lesson in survival under the grimmest circumstances. The lessons are hard-won in The Consequences of Fear, set in the fall of 1941 but no less relevant today.... Fans and newcomers to the series will root for Dobbs and the other well-drawn characters."--Los Angeles Times
Compelling.--Seattle Times
"Like Winspear's other novels, this one explores the characters' minds, examining not only the facts but also the human psyche. VERDICT: A must-read for Maisie Dobbs fans, this is an excellent fit for readers of historical and thoughtful mysteries."--Library Journal
A fast-paced tale of mystery and spycraft whose exploration of inner doubts and fears makes it much more. --Kirkus
"Outstanding.... Maisie and her loving family of supporting characters continue to evolve and grow in ways sure to win readers' hearts. Winspear is writing at the top of her game."--Publishers Weekly, starred review
"Fast-paced... Winspear never sugarcoats the horrors of war, and alongside the camaraderie shown by these characters and the Londoners surrounding them deliver terrible truths that must be endured.... also recommend it as a less- weighty read-alike for Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See."--Booklist, starred review