The Closest I've Come

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Harperteen
Publish Date
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.5 X 1.1 inches | 0.85 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062488534

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Fred Aceves is the author of The Closest I've Come, which was an ALA/YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection, a Kirkus Reviews Best Books of the Year selection, and an NYPL Best Books selection. The New David Espinoza is his second novel. Fred has lived in seven different countries and currently lives in Mexico. His online home is www.fredaceves.com.

Reviews

"Aceves has written a remarkable debut novel....[E]very reader will enjoy Aceves's deft handling of this coming-of-age journey. The Closest I've Come will be a welcome addition to the growing cannon of quality urban young adult literature."--Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
"A brilliant, subtle debut."--Sonia Patel, author of Morris Award finalist Rani Patel in Full Effect and Jaya and Rasa: A Love Story
"Recommended for fans of Jason Reynolds and for readers who appreciate gritty and introspective realistic fiction with a sense of humor."--School Library Journal
β˜… "Heart-wrenching, funny, hopeful, and not-to-be-missed."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"A story that will have readers cheering by the end. An inspirational read."--Booklist
β˜… "[A] memorable, hard-hitting portrait of a teenager trying to shape his own destiny after being dealt a difficult hand."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"It takes about half a page of this debut to become convinced Aceves is an author to watch, but there's no point at which you'll want to put down his strongly voiced coming-of-age, perfect for fans of When I Was the Greatest."--B&N Teen Blog
"A debut that's as stunning as it is powerful, Aceves' novel is a story is a complex story about family and friendships. Don't sleep on this one."--Paste Magazine
"Effective, and there's a refreshing subversion of literary expectation...The accessible writing brings this story to a wide range of readers."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"[E]xplores the nuances of class and ethnicity through the eyes of a hero that readers will love rooting for."--Bookish.com
"An unflinching portrayal of boyhood and the seemingly impossible circumstances so many young people face."--Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of The Poet X