The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls

Anissa Gray (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$16.00  $14.72
Publisher
Berkley Books
Publish Date
January 14, 2020
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.5 X 8.2 X 0.8 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781984802446

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Anissa Gray is a Senior Editor at CNN Worldwide and a contributor to Emmy and DuPont-Columbia award-winning coverage of some of the most consequential stories of our time. She began her career at Reuters as a reporter, based in New York, covering business news and international finance. Born in St. Joseph, Michigan, Gray studied English and American literature at New York University. She lives in Atlanta, Georgia, with her wife.

Reviews

"The inequities of the justice system, the fortitude of women of color, and the bittersweet struggle to connect are rendered ravishly in this bighearted novel." --Oprah Magazine

"Gray's nuanced, lyrical debut is a moving examination of the ties that bind and--nearly as often--bless."--People

"[An] intimate family saga sure to appeal to fans of Tayari Jones and Celeste Ng."--Entertainment Weekly

"Masterful debut...a poetically written story."--Delia Owens, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Where the Crawdads Sing

"I was immediately taken by the power and honesty of Anissa Gray's voice. She is a writer to watch, and this debut is not to be missed!"
--Terry McMillan, New York Times bestselling author of I Almost Forgot About You and Waiting to Exhale

"If you enjoyed An American Marriage, read The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls...an absorbing commentary on love, family and forgiveness."--The Washington Post

"As in Tayari Jones's best-selling An American Marriage, Gray uses imprisonment as the backdrop for a disarmingly compelling story that skirts easy answers and sentimentality. Conversational in tone and difficult in subject, Care and Feeding tells not just an American story but several important ones." --Vogue

"Gray's absorbing novel is about family and the things we hunger for."--Real Simple

"Anissa Gray's debut is heralded as "The Mothers meets An American Marriage." If that's not enough to sell you on this stunning novel about family and relationships, we don't know what will." -HelloGiggles

"[A] stark, emotional story you don't want to miss."--Bustle

"A trio of sisters navigate the tricky waters of forgiveness in Gray's heartfelt, beautifully written debut...Get an extra copy for your best friend or your own sister; this is one you're going to want to talk about."--Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author

"Gray beautifully captures the way strong women can piece a community back together, taking care of their loved ones while still figuring out how to care for themselves. A graceful debut that feels timely and important."--Karin Tanabe, author of The Gilded Years

"This is perfect for fans of Brit Bennett's The Mothers; readers will be deeply affected by this story of a family wrestling to support itself."--Publisher's Weekly

"Gray's engrossing and moving debut novel considers secrets and lies and their effect on the families of three sisters."--Booklist

"Gray manages a large cast of characters with ease, sharply differentiating between the voices of hardheaded Althea, shrewd Viola, and hesitating Lillian, who narrate the novel in alternating chapters."--Kirkus

"[A] moving portrait of a troubled family that would be an excellent book club pick."--PureWow