The Black Swan of Paris (Original)

Karen Robards (Author)
Available

Description

"A truly outstanding novel."--Heather Morris, #1 bestselling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz

"Emotional and powerful."--Pam Jenoff,
New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

From
New York Times bestselling author Karen Robards comes one of the most anticipated novels of the summer...

A world at war. A beautiful young star. A mission no one expected.

Paris, 1944

Celebrated singer Genevieve Dumont is both a star and a smokescreen. An unwilling darling of the Nazis, the chanteuse's position of privilege allows her to go undetected as an ally to the resistance.

When her estranged mother, Lillian de Rocheford, is captured by Nazis, Genevieve knows it won't be long before the Gestapo succeeds in torturing information out of Lillian that will derail the upcoming allied invasion. The resistance movement is tasked with silencing her by any means necessary--including assassination. But Genevieve refuses to let her mother become yet one more victim of the war. Reuniting with her long-lost sister, she must find a way to navigate the perilous cross-currents of Occupied France undetected--and in time to save Lillian's life.

For fans of The Nightingale, The Women in the Castle and The Lost Girls of Paris, this exquisite novel illuminates three women's strength, courage and capacity for unconditional love.

Product Details

Price
$27.99  $25.19
Publisher
Mira Books
Publish Date
June 30, 2020
Pages
480
Dimensions
6.2 X 1.4 X 9.1 inches | 1.27 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780778309338

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Karen Robards is the New York Times, USA TODAY and Publishers Weekly bestselling author of fifty novels and one novella. She is the winner of six Silver Pen awards and numerous other awards.

Reviews

"A truly outstanding novel, brilliantly written, that captured me and held me in its grip from page one. At its heart this story is about family love and the umbilical cords that stretch but never break. So much can be learnt from the telling of this story of what is truly important whether we live in a privileged, safe environment or in a theatre of conflict. The Black Swan of Paris reminds us of the power of love, hope and courage."--Heather Morris, #1 bestselling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz

"I loved The Black Swan of Paris, which has everything you could ask for in the best historical fiction. A strong heroine to root for, a handsome and seductive spy, and a family secret that drives the plot at breakneck pace, all set against the sweeping backdrop of World War II. This novel is Robards's best yet!"--Lisa Scottoline, #1 bestselling author

"Long a master of suspense, Karen Robards turns her formidable talents to the Second World War. The Black Swan of Paris tells of singer Genevieve Dumont, who must navigate a tangled web of torn allegiances, painful secrets and a past that refuses to set her free, as she struggles to save all she holds dear from the Nazis. Boldly conceived and richly realized, Robards establishes herself in a single sweep at the forefront of World War II novels with an emotional and powerful tale."--Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

"Beautifully written and completely absorbing. Genevieve is a broken but determined heroine in disguise, fooling the terrifying enemies surrounding her as she is immersed in the ugly belly of the Nazi occupation. Tension, secrets, and loyalty drive this gorgeous book until the very last page and I was transfixed by each riveting moment."--Noelle Salazar, USA TODAY bestselling author of The Flight Girls

"An extraordinarily suspenseful, emotional read--The Black Swan of Paris is a stunning World War II novel that captivated me from the very first page to its breathtaking conclusion."--Kelly Rimmer, bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say

"Robards blends commendable attention to historical detail with intense realism and deep feeling. Historical fiction fans will be enthralled with this richly hewn novel and the romance and danger lurking around its every corner."--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"An engaging story that explores an often overlooked aspect of World War II lore. For fans of Kristin ­Hannah's The Nightingale, this page-turning novel full of suspense and excitement examines the lengths to which we are willing to go for our loved ones."--Library Journal

"An emotional tapestry of divided loyalties and love."--AARP

"Beneath the glitz and glamour of the life of singing star Genevieve Dumont, aka Black Swan, lies a whirlwind story of love, loss, sacrifice, and war in Paris, 1944. Robards delivers a suspenseful historical account of the women in the Résistance who used heart, body, and soul to advance the Allies plans for an invasion, despite the ironclad control of the Nazis... WWII history buffs will appreciate the accurate depictions and backdrop, while romantic-suspense lovers will eagerly follow Genevieve from the seashores of France to the hilltops of Germany."--Booklist

"One of the most popular voices in women's fiction."--Newsweek

"One terrific storyteller."--Chicago Tribune