The Black Flamingo

Dean Atta (Author)
Available

Description

Stonewall Book Award Winner!

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, written and narrated by acclaimed UK poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender.

Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he's navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican--but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough.

As he gets older, Michael's coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs--and the Black Flamingo is born.

Told with raw honesty, insight, and lyricism, this debut explores the layers of identity that make us who we are--and allow us to shine.

Product Details

Price
$39.99  $35.99
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publish Date
May 26, 2020
Dimensions
5.6 X 0.6 X 6.8 inches | 0.2 pounds
Language
English
Type
MP3 CD
EAN/UPC
9781094159485

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Dean Atta's poems deal with themes of race, gender, and identity. He regularly performs across the UK and internationally and his work has been shortlisted for the Polari First Book Prize and appeared on MTV and BET. The Black Flamingo is his debut YA novel. You can find him online at www.deanatta.com.

Reviews

"Celebratory and passionate, Atta's bold verse novel calls to its readers to find their own blazing, performative inner truth."

-- "The Guardian (London)"

"Inspiring."

-- "Irish Times (Dublin)"

"An excellent book to spark discussions, break down barriers, open peoples eyes to other lives."

-- "Independent Book Review (London)"

"Courage and fierceness abound in this lyrical coming-of-age story...Gripping, unflinching, and unforgettable."

-- "Kirkus Reviews (starred review)"

"A triumphant and emotional story about standing up for and embracing oneself that readers of any orientation and ethnicity will relate to."

-- "School Library Journal (starred review)"

The Black Flamingo is an essential addition to the canon of queer coming-of-age stories. Dean Atta has gifted us with words that are lyrical, hilarious, and intimate. I'm obsessed with this book and you will be too."

-- "Abdi Nazemian, author of Like a Love Story"