The Big Empty

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$26.95
Publisher
Soho Crime
Publish Date
Pages
264
Dimensions
5.6 X 1.0 X 8.3 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781641290029

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Stan Jones is a native of Alaska and a former bush pilot. He has worked as an award-winning journalist and environmentalist. He is the coauthor of the nonfiction book The Spill, as well as the author of five other mysteries in the acclaimed Nathan Active series, including White Sky, Black Ice; Shaman Pass; Frozen Sun; Village of the Ghost Bears; and Tundra Kill. He and Patricia Watts are collaborating on the next Nathan Active mystery.


Patricia Watts began writing fiction after a 20-year career as a journalist in Texas, Hawaii, and Alaska, and a decade as a human rights investigator in Anchorage. She is also the author of Watchdogs and The Frayer, noir suspense novels set in Fairbanks, Alaska. She now lives in San Diego, where she is working on her next novel.

Reviews

Praise for The Big Empty

"Works well on all levels . . . The Big Empty is the most tightly-crafted Nathan Active story yet, and for both longtime fans of the series as well as those unfamiliar with it, it's a good yarn that will draw readers in and keep them turning pages."
--The Anchorage Daily News

"Intriguing . . . buttressed by the family melodrama and the authors' insights into the culture of Alaska's indigenous peoples."
--Publishers Weekly

"Jones's and coauthor Watts's prose has been called muscular and stark, but it has an inviting, cinematic quality to it as well. A well-constructed mystery recommended for fans of C.J. Box and Craig Johnson."
--Booklist

"[The Big Empty] does a good job of spinning a mystery in an interesting setting with a understated style that explores but avoids exoticizing the Inupiat community it depicts."
--Reviewing the Evidence

Praise for the Nathan Active Mysteries

"You can't fake the stuff Stan Jones pulls off . . . A writer of muscular words and stark images, Jones sets up his scenes like film shots."
--The New York Times Book Review

"Chilling . . . Fascinating."
--USA Today

"Jones delivers a finely laddered plot . . . but the real fun, as always, lies in the dozens of mini-lessons he gives on hardscrabble Alaskan life."
--Entertainment Weekly

"Active is a sturdy, reliable figure, and Jones has a palpable affection for the Alaskan Native culture and his eccentric characters."
--Seattle Times

"We're in the hands of a skilled mystery/crime writer. Without mincing on tone or texture, Jones's writing displays a telling tautness, complemented by comic riff nuances of a dry-witted humorist."
--Anchorage Press

"Stellar . . . Jones, who was born in Alaska, uses his intimate knowledge of the state, his fondness for the Inupiat people and their traditions, and his eye for politicians' excruciatingly funny incongruities to produce a well-rounded and appealing portrait of America's Last Frontier."
--Publishers Weekly, Starred Review