The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford

Ron Hansen (Author)

Product Details

$16.99  $15.63
Harper Perennial
Publish Date
September 01, 2007
5.52 X 0.81 X 7.98 inches | 0.55 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Ron Hansen is the author of more than 20 books, stories, and anthologies. He received the Award in Literature from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters for his book Nebraska, a collection of short fiction, in 1989. Some of his other works include Mariette in Ecstasy; the children's book The Shadowmaker; Desperadoes; The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford, which won the John Edgar Wideman Award in 1984; and the novel Atticus, a suspenseful murder mystery detailing a father's fierce love for his son. Atticus was a finalist for the National Book Award in 1996. Among the anthologies written by Hansen are The Sun So Hot I Froze To Death, Can I Just Sit Here For A While?, and True Romance. His short stories, with titles ranging from His Dog to Playland, have appeared in the Stanford Alumni Magazine, Atlantic Monthly, the Iowa Review, Esquire, and many others. Besides holding Guggenheim and National Endowment for the Arts fellowships, Hansen has received a Lyndhurst Foundation Grant and is a fellow of the University of Michigan Society of Fellows. Hansen has also held the position of Gerald Manley Hopkins S.J. Professor of Arts and Humanities at Santa Clara University.


"This book is a wonderful achievement."--San Francisco Chronicle
"One of our finest stylists of American historical fiction."--Christian Science Monitor
"Hansen has turned low history into high art. This is a terrific book."--Newsday
"Here is THE James book . . . Put Hansen on your bedside table."--Richmond News-Leader