The Art of Logic in an Illogical World

Available

Product Details

Price
$27.00  $24.84
Publisher
Basic Books
Publish Date
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.4 X 1.1 X 8.3 inches | 0.95 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781541672482
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Eugenia Cheng is the scientist in residence at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and an honorary fellow at the University of Sheffield. She is the author of How to Bake Pi, Beyond Infinity, and The Art of Logic in an Illogical World. She lives in Chicago, Illinois.

Reviews

"Entertaining... a very welcome primer in logical thinking."--Kirkus Reviews
"Cheng's suggestion to combine the persuasive powers of logic with emotional appeal to find common ground is original and pragmatic, particularly in these divisive times."--Publishers Weekly
"It's a shame that not everyone can read this book, but Cheng claims it is incumbent on those of us who can to use compassion and logic to argue productively with those who can't. In this way, advanced mathematics could make a meaningful contribution to creating a better society as well as happier conversations and relationships. There is a sense in which this book is proof it can."--Guardian
"Following in the tradition of George Boole, Lewis Carroll and John Venn, who provided algebraic or diagrammatic aids to logical calculation, Eugenia Cheng enhances her reputation as a popular mathematics writer with this perceptive analysis of logic and its limitations."--Times Higher Education
"With humor, grace, and a natural gift for making explanations seem fun, Eugenia Cheng has done it again. This is a book to savor, to consult, and to buy for all your friends. You'll think more clearly after reading this book, something that is unfortunately in short supply these days. I am buying several copies to send to heads of state."--Daniel J. Levitin, Ph.D., New York Times bestselling author of This Is Your Brain on Music and The Organized Mind
"This book is empowering! Eugenia Cheng makes logic alive and relevant with prose that is accessible, clear and engaging. In this masterpiece, you will learn how the power of logic can clarify some of the most pressing issues that confront us, as individuals and a society."--Stephon Alexander, author of The Jazz of Physics and professor of physics, Brown University
"Cheng's book covers the basics of logic, argumentation, and emotion through humor and an excellent use of illustrations like ice cream, sexism, and GΓΆdel's Incompleteness Theorem."--MAA Reviews