The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning

Maggie Nelson (Author)
Available

Description

Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath's poetry to Francis Bacon's paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono's performance art, Nelson's nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility.

Product Details

Price
$16.95  $15.59
Publisher
W. W. Norton & Company
Publish Date
August 13, 2012
Pages
288
Dimensions
5.4 X 0.8 X 8.2 inches | 0.53 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780393343144
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Maggie Nelson is a poet, art critic, and nonfiction author of books such as The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning, Bluets, and Jane: A Murder. She teaches in the School of Critical Studies at CalArts and lives in Los Angeles.

Reviews

A lean-forward experience, and in its most transcendent moments, reading it can feel like having the best conversation of your life.--Rachel Syme
An important and frequently surprising book... could be read as the foundation for a post-avant-garde aesthetics... Nelson, who is also a poet, is such a graceful writer that I...just sat back and enjoyed the show.--Laura Kipnis
[Nelson] dexterously, and creatively, manages to hold a mirror to our culture's fascination with cruelty and invites us to reflect on our personal reasons for indulging it.--Eleni Theodoropoulos