The Animals at Lockwood Manor

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$15.99  $14.71
Publisher
Mariner Books
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.2 X 8.0 X 1.1 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780358508656

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

JANE HEALEY studied writing in the MFA program at CUNY Brooklyn College. Her short fiction has been short-listed for the Bristol Short Story Prize, the Costa Short Story Award, and the Commonwealth Short Story Prize. The Animals at Lockwood Manor is her debut novel. She lives in Edinburgh.

Reviews

A 2020 "Most Anticipated," Angela Lashbrook for Medium
A March Indie Next Pick

"Comparisons between Jane Healey's debut and Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent are accurate, as The Animals at Lockwood Manor fits beautifully into the category of gothic fiction . . . A strong debut, full of creepy cliffhangers, lovely descriptions and a believably inelegant heroine."--BookPage

"Alternating chapters told from Lucy's point of view supply the backstory of this gothic tale of hauntings, secrets, and madness--a creative device that adds tension and suspense. Atmospheric details of the manor make it a central character. VERDICT: Recommended for fans of Lauren A. Forry, Sarah Perry, and gothic suspense."--Library Journal

"[Healey's] gothic novel ticks the most important box: eerie atmosphere . . . excels at creating disquiet through descriptions of crushed feathers, disintegrating fur, teeth shining in the half-light, and the living creatures that prey upon the taxidermied animals . . . Will offer a satisfying scratch for those with an itch for a gothic read."--Booklist

"[A] satisfying conclusion . . . this will be of interest for fans of revisionist gothic narratives."--Publishers Weekly

"Healey looks back fondly at the tradition of spooky English country-house fiction while adding a few twists of her own . . . History and mystery to spare."--Kirkus Reviews

"Jane Healey has created an eerie puzzle box of a book and a gothic in the tradition's best sense. A fading great house filled with taxidermy is the perfect backdrop for Healey's facile atmospheric prose, which brings to mind both Sarah Waters and Sarah Perry. Tense, broody, romantic and subversive, The Animals of Lockwood Manor is a deeply consuming read and a fantastic novel to get lost in."
--Erika Swyler, author of The Book of Speculation and Light from Other Stars