The Age of Huts (Compleat)

Ron Silliman (Author)


Between the Age of Innocence and the Age of Experience comes The Age of Huts. This book brings together for the first time all of the poems in Ron Silliman's Age of Huts cycle, including Ketjak, Sunset Debris, The Chinese Notebook, and 2197, as well as two key satellite texts, Sitting Up, Standing, Taking Steps, and BART. Each poem offers a radically different approach toward using language to explore the world. One of the founding works of Language Poetry, The Age of Huts is about everything, more or less literally, as each sentence, even each phrase, embarks on its own narrative, linking together to form a large polyphonic investigation of contemporary life. From Ketjak, one of the first poems to employ "the new sentence," to 2197, a serial work that scrambles the vocabulary and grammar of its sentences, The Age of Huts questions everything we have known about poetry in order to see the world anew.

Product Details

University of California Press
Publish Date
April 01, 2007
6.1 X 0.89 X 7.84 inches | 0.78 pounds
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Ron Silliman is the author of more than twenty volumes of poetry. His most recent books include Woundwood, Under Albany, MultiPlex, and N/O.and the weblog Silliman's Blog (


"For readers who have not read Silliman before, The Age of Huts is a fine place to start."--David Huntsperger"Rain Taxi" (08/01/2008)
"In Silliman's hands, language--so often manipulated for political coercion and economic gain--is restored to its most mechanical, primal functions, upending our ideas of the poem and of the sentence, and reawakening us to what it is we're doing when we're reading, writing, thinking."--Rob Schlegel"Boston Review" (07/01/2009)