That's What Friends Do

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.8 X 1.1 X 8.5 inches | 0.9 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062888938

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Cathleen Barnhart holds a BA in creative writing from Carnegie Mellon University and an MFA in fiction writing from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. That's What Friends Do is her first published novel.

Reviews

"Barnhart artfully weaves two viewpoints together, offering a frank portrayal of middle school struggles and the ever-changing nature of friendship."--Dee Romito, author of The BFF Bucket List
"A dazzling debut, That's What Friends Do is a gorgeous, heartbreaking, and deeply felt tribute to the power of friendship."--Paul Griffin, author of When Friendship Followed Me Home
"A careful introduction to consent and sexual harassment for a middle-grade audience... A worthy, timely, ambitious debut."--Kirkus Reviews
"Readers who are beginning to navigate more complicated emotions and personal boundaries will appreciate this story which deftly handles sensitive topics like inappropriate touching and body autonomy."--School Library Journal
"The book opens the doors to honest and truthful experiences of damage as a result of gender stereotypes that painfully impact both girls and boys."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)
"Fans of Barbara Dee, Ali Benjamin, and Lynda Mullaly Hunt will find this discussion of shattered friendships, toxic masculinity and bullying to be a riveting read."--Young Adult Books Central
"Told in dual perspectives, this important book will generate conversations about rape culture, consent, and positive relationships."--A Mighty Girl