Testo Junkie: Sex, Drugs, and Biopolitics in the Pharmacopornographic Era

Available

Product Details

Price
$22.95
Publisher
Feminist Press
Publish Date
Pages
427
Dimensions
5.5 X 1.0 X 7.9 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781558618374
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Paul B. Preciado is one of today's leading thinkers in the study of gender and sexuality. He is currently Professor of Political History of the Body, Gender Theory, and History of Performance at the University Paris VIII. He received his PhD in the Theory of Architecture at Princeton University where he earned special distinction to which he was a research career. He earned a Master of Philosophy and Contemporary Theory of Gender in the New School for Social Research in New York, where he studied with Agnes Heller and Jacques Derrida.

Bruce Benderson is the translator of many authors from the French, including Virginie Despentes, Alain Robbe-Grillet, Pierre Guyotat, and, though it is quite far away from his usual subject matter, the autobiography of Céline Dion. He is also the author of several novels and works of nonfiction.

Reviews

"Testo Junkie is a wild ride. Preciado leaves the identity politics of taking T to others, and instead, in the tradition of William S. Burroughs, Kathy Acker, and Jean Genet, he conducts a wild textual experiment. The results are spectacular . . . The gendered body will never be the same again."--Jack Halberstam, author of The Queer Art of Failure

"Paul B. Preciado's brilliant book oscillates between high theory and the surging rush of testosterone. Flush with elegant theoretical formulations, lascivious sex narratives, and astute histories of gender, Testo Junkie is a key text to comprehend the deep interconnectedness of sex and drugs today."--José Esteban Muñoz, author of Cruising Utopia

"Testo Junkie is a wild ride. Preciado leaves the identity politics of taking T to others, and instead, in the tradition of William S. Burroughs, Kathy Acker, and Jean Genet, he conducts a wild textual experiment. The results are spectacular . . . The gendered body will never be the same again."--Jack Halberstam, author of The Queer Art of Failure

"Paul B. Preciado's brilliant book oscillates between high theory and the surging rush of testosterone. Flush with elegant theoretical formulations, lascivious sex narratives, and astute histories of gender, Testo Junkie is a key text to comprehend the deep interconnectedness of sex and drugs today."--José Esteban Muñoz, author of Cruising Utopia