Symptoms of Being Human

Jeff Garvin (Author)
Available

Description

Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow List

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure--media and otherwise--is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school--even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast--the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created--a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in--or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be human.

Product Details

Price
$9.99  $9.19
Publisher
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publish Date
November 14, 2017
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.2 X 1.0 X 7.9 inches | 0.57 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
ISBN/EAN
9780062382870

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jeff Garvin grew up in Orange County, California, the son of a banker and a magician. He started acting in high school, and enjoyed a fifteen-year career including guest-starring roles in network television series ranging from The Wonder Years to Roseanne to Caroline and the City, as well as several independent features. While studying at Chapman University, Jeff won awards for classical guitar and visual storytelling before graduating with a BFA in film. As the front man of his rock band, 7k, Garvin released three albums and toured the United States. When the band dissolved in 2011, Jeff, who had always written short stories and lyrics, found his passion in full-length fiction. Jeff lives in Southern California with his music teacher wife, their menagerie, and a respectable collection of books and guitars.

Reviews

"Vibrantly imagined...a welcome mirror for gender-fluid teens."--Kirkus Reviews
"With a main character who truly deserves to be called unique, combined with heartbreak and triumphs that are universal, this unforgettable book made me laugh, and also cry: Garvin's powerful new voice rocks!"--Lissa Price, international bestselling author of Starters
"Riley Cavanaugh is a sharp, funny, powerful voice for those who haven't quite found theirs yet. Both highly entertaining and highly necessary, Symptoms is the kind of book that makes you a better human for having read it. I loved it."--Dahlia Adler, author of Under the Lights and Just Visiting
"A moving portrayal of what it means to be different, yet the same, all at once. Jeff Garvin has written a beautifully thoughtful book."--Renee Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn
"An important introduction for readers who know little about gender fluidity and a welcome nod to those who may be experiencing similar feelings."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"Riley is a smart, funny, sharp-eyed force"--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"One of the first YA books to deal with the complex issue of gender fluidity...Riley's emotional life and personal growth shed welcome light on a hitherto obscure subject."--Booklist (starred review)