Super Host

Kate Russo (Author)
Pre-Order   Ships Feb 09, 2021

Description

A deeply funny and shrewdly observed debut novel about being lost in the very place you know by heart.

Bennett Driscoll is a Turner Prize-nominated artist who was once a rising star. Now, at age fifty-five, his wife has left him, he hasn't sold a painting in two years, and his gallery wants to stop selling his work, claiming they'll have more value retrospectively...when he's dead. So, left with a large West London home and no income, he's forced to move into his artist's studio in the back garden and list his house on the popular vacation rental site, AirBed.

A stranger now in his own home, with his daughter, Mia, off at art school, and any new relationships fizzling out at best, Bennett struggles to find purpose in his day-to-day. That all changes when three different guests--lonely American Alicia; tortured artist Emma; and cautiously optimistic divorc e Kirstie--unwittingly unlock the pieces of himself that have been lost to him for too long.

Warm, witty, and utterly humane, Super Host offers a captivating portrait of middle age, relationships, and what it truly means to take a new chance at life.

Product Details

Price
$27.00  $24.30
Publisher
G.P. Putnam's Sons
Publish Date
February 09, 2021
Pages
368
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780593187708

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Kate Russo grew up in Maine but now divides her time between there and the United Kingdom. She has an MFA in painting from the Slade School of Fine Art, and exhibits in both the UK and the US.

Reviews

"Kate Russo's novel hasn't yet been compared to Eleanor [Oliphant Is Completely Fine], but it should be. The character at its heart...is the perfect blend of impossible and beloved, and the story is handled with a mix of wise humor and compassion." --BookPage

"A painter herself, Russo makes the act of creating art come alive, while effectively limning her characters in this incisive study of contemporary life." -Library Journal

"In Russo's charming and poignant debut...the author writes with warm sympathy and humor. A treat for fans of Nick Hornby and Tom Perrotta." --Kirkus Reviews

"[A] pleasantly quirky debut...Bennett is a comfortable character to get to know, as is the London through which he ambles." -Booklist

"Super Host isn't just a charming, compulsively readable, romantically suspenseful novel about a lonely man who gets himself emotionally enmeshed with a series of short-term tenants. Kate Russo's wise and funny debut also has a lot to say about the neighborhoods of London, the frustrations and satisfactions of making art, and the courage it takes to start over in the middle of your life. It's a joy from start to finish." --Tom Perrotta

"I gobbled up Super Host, Kate Russo's smart, funny, and surprising first novel. She writes with such a generous and insightful eye about love, loneliness and artistic ambition, and has redrawn the lines that connect people in fiction through the most modern and unlikely of settings, the home share." -Jess Walter

"This is the compulsively readable story of Bennett, a once-famous artist now divorced and impoverished, who lives in his garden studio and spies on his tenants through the windows. Super Host is hilarious, and touching, too; Kate Russo is a terrific storyteller." --Claire Messud

"Kate Russo's debut Super Host is pure delight--smart, fun, poignant, and deeply satisfying. I loved it." -Lily King

"Kate Russo's delightful novel is deft, fast, and startling. I could have sworn I was right there, and I never wanted to leave." --Luis Alberto Urrea