Stone-Garland

(Translator)
Available

Product Details

Price
$16.00  $14.72
Publisher
Milkweed Editions
Publish Date
Pages
128
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.4 X 0.4 inches | 0.4 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781571315328

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Dan Beachy-Quick is a poet, essayist, and translator. His books include Variations on Dawn and Dusk, which was longlisted for the National Book Awards. His work has been supported by the Lannan, Monfort, and Guggenheim Foundations. He is a University Distinguished Teaching Scholar at Colorado State University, where he teaches in the MFA program in creative writing.

Reviews

Praise for Of Song and Silence

"Responding to the silence from which poetry arises, Dan Beachy-Quick is not afraid to follow the call of thought, wherever it may lead. This book situates itself beyond the noise of the times." --Robert Pogue Harrison, author of Gardens: An Essay on the Human

"You read here that, etymologically, 'consider' means 'to examine the stars. To draw the connections between the distant points.' If that is so, then Of Silence and Song is a clear night sky full of constellations. From the bean fields that Pythagoras would not enter to the verses of her Bible that Dickinson cut out, from his daughter Iris's fear of the dark to the 'tenth Muse seldom mentioned, ' from here to heliopause, Dan Beachy-Quick crosses great expanses in this book-length, acutely human consideration, flickering in the hunch that 'question and answer are the same thing--one. . . just the disappearance of the other.'"--Brian Blanchfield, author of Proxies

"It's an exciting thing when a writer of real originality and scope discovers a form that both focuses and liberates his gift. Dan Beachy-Quick is such a writer, and Of Silence and Song is such a book. One doesn't think to use the word 'ennobling' of many works of contemporary art, but this one is."--Christian Wiman, author of Every Riven Thing

Praise for Variations on Dawn and Dusk

Longlist, National Book Awards 2019 for Poetry

"A work of ekphrasis based on Robert Irwin's Untitled (Dawn to Dusk) set in the desert of Marfa, Tex., draws inspiration from the sun as it warms, cools, colors, and shifts, resulting in a series of poems whose patterns are informed by their subject: light."--Publishers Weekly

"In Variations on Dawn and Dusk what's spoken is almost sung, and what's sung is quickly lost, but what remains is a trace of presence as political as it is spiritual, reminding the reader that we're constituted by what passes through us, what we're open to. . . . But what a space, lit with such generosity and heart! It is aspirational, it is hopeful, it is not sentimental. It has a truly counter-cultural music that makes use of hums and whispers and silences. As I read Variations on Dawn and Dusk I almost felt as if my body unfroze. It simply delivers light."--Katie Peterson, author of The Accounts

"A true American metaphysical in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Susan Howe, Beachy-Quick is our postmodern antinomian, suspicious not of a moribund faith but of the truth claims of consciousness itself. These fierce lyrics of existential grief display his preternatural attunement to thought at the moment it turns inward upon itself not for comfort but in grave confrontation."--Brian Teare, author of Doomstead Days

"Something quite literally ultimate transpires in these Variations on Dawn and Dusk, as Beachy-Quick has found a way to map the interstices--between quanta of light; between syllables; between the nearly inaudible sounds of colors upon surface. To my certain knowledge, no one has accomplished this since Dame Julian of Norwich. These quiet poems are a torrent of angels, and I cannot look away."--Donald Revell, author of The English Boat