Stella Díaz Never Gives Up

Angela Dominguez (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
Roaring Brook Press
Publish Date
January 14, 2020
Pages
208
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.5 X 0.8 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250229113

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Angela Dominguez was born in Mexico City, grew up in the great state of Texas, and now resides on the east coast. She is the author and illustrator of several books for children including Maria Had a Little Llama, which received the American Library Association Pura Belpré Illustration Honor. Recently, she received her second Pura Belpré Honor for her illustrations in Mango, Abuela, and Me written by Meg Medina. When Angela is not in her studio, she teaches at the Academy of Art University, which honored her with their Distinguished Alumni Award in 2013. She also enjoys presenting at different schools and libraries to all sorts of ages. Angela is a proud member of SCBWI, PEN America, and represented by Wernick and Pratt Literary Agency. As a child, she loved reading books and making a mess creating pictures. She's delighted to still be doing both.

Reviews

"Readers don't need familiarity with Stella Díaz Has Something To Say to fall in love with [Stella]. The protagonist will endear readers to her; she may also create some environmental converts." --Kirkus Reviews

"A stellar sequel or stand-alone title with a plot that strikes the perfect balance between character-driven action and activism." --School Library Journal

Praise for Stella Diaz Has Something to Say:

2019 Sid Fleischman Award winner
A 2019 Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) Notable Children's Book
A New York Public Library Best Book for Kids 2018
Top 10 Showstopper Favorite
One of Chicago Public Library's Best of the Best Books 2018

"Fans of Clementine and Alvin Ho will be delighted to meet Stella." --School Library Journal, starred review

"Readers should easily relate to Stella, her struggle to use her voice, and the way she feels caught between worlds at school and at home." --Publishers Weekly

"An excellent, empowering addition to middle grade collections." --Booklist

"A nice and timely depiction of an immigrant child experience." --Kirkus Reviews

"Readers will agree with Stella's mother and brother that she is, as her name suggests, a star." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"A rich narrative." --Horn Book

"Delightfully rich, both humorous and sensitive." --Margarita Engle, Young People's Poet Laureate

"Stella Díaz is a delight!" --Monica Brown, author of the Lola Levine series

"Shy yet spunky Stella speaks to feeling different, to conquering fears in order to make a new friend, and to learning that, like the starfish who shares her name--Estrella--she is stronger than she thinks." --Danielle Davis, author of Zinnia and the Bees

"An inspiring tale of self-discovery." --Minh Le, author of Let Me Finish!