Stella Díaz Has Something to Say

Angela Dominguez (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$6.99  $6.43
Publisher
Square Fish
Publish Date
January 22, 2019
Pages
208
Dimensions
5.1 X 7.5 X 0.7 inches | 0.34 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781250294104

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Angela Dominguez was born in Mexico City, grew up in the great state of Texas, and now resides on the east coast. She is the author and illustrator of several books for children including Maria Had a Little Llama, which received the American Library Association Pura Belpré Illustration Honor. Recently, she received her second Pura Belpré Honor for her illustrations in Mango, Abuela, and Me written by Meg Medina. When Angela is not in her studio, she teaches at the Academy of Art University, which honored her with their Distinguished Alumni Award in 2013. She also enjoys presenting at different schools and libraries to all sorts of ages. Angela is a proud member of SCBWI, PEN America, and represented by Wernick and Pratt Literary Agency. As a child, she loved reading books and making a mess creating pictures. She's delighted to still be doing both.

Reviews

"Fans of Clementine and Alvin Ho will be delighted to meet Stella." --School Library Journal, starred review

"Drawing on her own childhood, Dominguez smoothly blends Spanish and English into the narration and dialogue, Stella's Mexican-American culture fully informs her perspective and family life, and chunky spot art helps establish the setting. Readers should easily relate to Stella, her struggle to use her voice, and the way she feels caught between worlds at school and at home." --Publishers Weekly

"Dominguez's novel introduces a character many readers can relate to, especially bilingual kids or English language learners who struggle with expressing themselves. An excellent, empowering addition to middle grade collections." --Booklist

"A nice and timely depiction of an immigrant child experience." --Kirkus Reviews

"Readers will agree with Stella's mother and brother that she is, as her name suggests, a star." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Many readers will relate to and sympathize with the protagonist. Lively interspersed black-and-white illustrations showing elements of Stella's day-to-day life and of her imagination add dimension to a rich narrative." --Horn Book

"Stella Díaz Has Something to Say is delightfully rich, both humorous and sensitive at the same time. This is the story of a curious girl who longs to fit in, but also feels the need to be herself, learning how to speak up in two languages." --Margarita Engle, Young People's Poet Laureate

"Stella Díaz is a delight! Young readers will love the story of this shy, sweet, and very creative girl finding her voice." --Monica Brown, author of the Lola Levine series

"Shy yet spunky Stella speaks to feeling different, to conquering fears in order to make a new friend, and to learning that, like the starfish who shares her name--Estrella--she is stronger than she thinks." --Danielle Davis, author of Zinnia and the Bees

"An inspiring tale of self-discovery. Stella Diaz speaks for anyone who has struggled to juggle different sides of their identity. Which is, of course, all of us." --Minh Le, author of Let Me Finish!