Star Daughter

Shveta Thakrar (Author)
Pre-Order   Ships Aug 11, 2020

Description

"Shveta Thakrar's prose is as beautiful as starlight."--New York Times bestselling author Holly Black

This gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman's Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy.

The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Pretending to be "normal." But when an accidental flare of her starfire puts her human father in the hospital, Sheetal needs a full star's help to heal him. A star like her mother, who returned to the sky long ago.

Sheetal's quest to save her father will take her to a celestial court of shining wonders and dark shadows, where she must take the stage as her family's champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens--and win, or risk never returning to Earth at all.

Brimming with celestial intrigue, this sparkling YA debut is perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Laini Taylor.

--Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen and The Gilded Wolves

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Harperteen
Publish Date
August 11, 2020
Pages
448
Dimensions
5.7 X 1.7 X 8.3 inches | 1.14 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062894625

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Shveta Thakrar's debut novel, Star Daughter, is a standalone YA fantasy perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Laini Taylor, and Margaret Rogerson. Shveta's work has appeared in a number of magazines and anthologies, including Enchanted Living, Uncanny Magazine, and Toil & Trouble. You can find her online at www.shvetathakrar.com and on Twitter and Instagram at @ShvetaThakrar.

Reviews

"Absolutely magical. Thakrar weaves her words so tightly around you that you are completely immersed in her world, a victim of its lyrical starsong."--Ellen Oh, author of the Prophecy series and editor of A Thousand Beginnings and Endings
"A luminous debut. Star Daughter's sparkling coming-of-age tale of transformation and love is among the best kinds of fantasy: one that reminds us to reach for the stars while keeping our feet firmly on the ground."--Fran Wilde, Nebula Award-winning author of The Bone Universe series and Riverland
"Star Daughter is a love letter to every desi girl wanting to believe in her own magic."--Tanaz Bhathena, author of A Girl Like That and Hunted by the Sky
"Shveta Thakrar's prose is as beautiful as starlight."--Holly Black, New York Times bestselling author
"A dreamy, diasporic, diverse fantasy. A story about stars, yes--and about family, friends, falling in love, and finding your voice, your place. Places. A shimmering debut."--Tanuja Desai Hidier, author of Born Confused and sequel Bombay Blues
"A gorgeously written tale of magic and family, of finding and fighting for your place, Star Daughter has a heart that shines as brilliantly as its celestial court."--S. A. Chakraborty, author of the bestselling Daevabad Trilogy
"A wondrous delight, Shveta Thakrar's debut is a feast for the senses."--Cindy Pon, author of Want and Serpentine
"A stunning tale of self-acceptance, family, and liminal spaces."
--Jacqueline Koyanagi
"Radiant. Readers will be enchanted by Sheetal and the starry court."--Kristen Ciccarelli, internationally bestselling author of The Last Namsara
"Shveta Thakrar's writing shines as bright as any star."--Laura Sebastian, New York Times bestselling author of the Ash Princess series
"Luminously beautiful, with a mythic heart."--Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand
"A magical debut full of wonder, wit, myths, and adventure. Reading Thakrar's words is like swimming through the most beautiful imagination--every page is a delight."--Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire
"Absolutely magical and captivatingly lyrical."--Sandhya Menon, New York Times bestselling author of When Dimple Met Rishi
"Take a journey to the heavenly courts in this luscious, shimmering fantasy, so dripping with beauty and imagination you'll want to eat it with a spoon."--New York Times bestselling author Laini Taylor
"My favorite tales are the ones that sneakily draw you out of one world and slip you into the next. This is one of those. I emerged from Star Daughter dusted with constellations and wonder. Thakrar's imagination is a feast for the senses."--Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen and The Gilded Wolves
"An enchanting story about love, family, finding your voice, and searching for home. Thakrar's sparkling command of language weaves magic on every page. This book is a joy, and will speak to anyone who yearns to belong."--Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn and Kingsbane