Spies of the Midnight Sun: A True Story of WWII Heroes

Samuel Marquis (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.63
Publisher
Mount Sopris Publishing
Publish Date
May 15, 2018
Pages
420
Dimensions
5.98 X 9.02 X 0.93 inches | 1.35 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781943593231

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Samuel Marquis is a bestselling, award-winning suspense author. He works by day as a VP-Hydrogeologist with an environmental firm in Boulder, Colorado, and by night as a spinner of historical and modern suspense yarns. He holds a Master of Science degree in Geology, is a Registered Professional Geologist in eleven states, and is a recognized expert in groundwater contaminant hydrogeology, having served as a hydrogeologic expert witness in several class action litigation cases. He also has a deep and abiding interest in military history and intelligence, specifically related to the Golden Age of Piracy, Plains Indian Wars, World War II, and the current War on Terror. His first two thrillers, The Slush Pile Brigade and Blind Thrust, were both #1 Denver Post bestsellers for fiction, and his first three novels received national book award recognition. The Slush Pile Brigade was an award-winning finalist in the mystery category of the Beverly Hills Book Awards. Blind Thrust was the winner of the Foreword Reviews' Book of the Year (HM) and the Next Generation Indie Book Awards and an award-winning finalist of the USA Best Book Awards and Beverly Hills Book Awards (thriller and suspense). His third novel, The Coalition, was the winner of the Beverly Hills Book Awards for a political thriller. Ambassador Marc Grossman, former U.S. Under Secretary of State, proclaimed, "In his novels Blind Thrust and Cluster of Lies, Samuel Marquis vividly combines the excitement of the best modern techno-thrillers, an education in geology, and a clarifying reminder that the choices each of us make have a profound impact on our precious planet." Former Colorado Governor Roy Romer said, "Blind Thrust kept me up until 1 a.m. two nights in a row. I could not put it down. An intriguing mystery that intertwined geology, fracking, and places in Colorado that I know well. Great fun." Kirkus Reviews proclaimed The Coalition an "entertaining thriller" and declared that "Marquis has written a tight plot with genuine suspense." James Patterson compared The Coalition to The Day After Tomorrow, the classic thriller by Allan Folsom. Other book reviewers have compared Book #1 of Marquis's World War Two Trilogy, Bodyguard of Deception, to the spy novels of John le Carre, Daniel Silva, Ken Follett, and Alan Furst.

Reviews

"The Coalition has a lot of good action and suspense, an unusual female assassin, and the potential to be another The Day After Tomorrow [the runaway bestseller by Allan Folsom]."--James Patterson, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

"Marquis is a student of history, always creative, [and] never boring...A good comparison might be Tom Clancy."--Military.com

"Altar of Resistance is a gripping and densely packed thriller dramatizing the Allied Italian campaign...reminiscent of Herman Wouk's The Winds of War."--Kirkus Reviews

"Marquis is the new Follett, Silva, and Clancy rolled into one."--Prof. J.R. Welch, Editor of Dispatches from Fort Apache

"In the richness of the texture of his material, Marquis far exceeds the stance of a mere raconteur and entertainer of the masses--he, in fact, becomes a public historian."--Lois C. Henderson, Bookpleasures.com (Crime & Mystery) - 5-Star Review

"A combination of The Great Escape, Public Enemies, a genuine old-time Western, and a John Le CarrΓ© novel."--BlueInk Review (for Bodyguard of Deception, Book 1 of WWII Series)

"Marquis writes quite well, but his real contribution with Blackbeard: The Birth of America is historical....An engrossing and historically grounded yarn."--Kirkus Reviews

"Marquis grabs my attention right from the beginning and never lets go."--Gov. Roy R. Romer, 39th Governor of Colorado

"The Coalition starts with a bang, revs up its engines, and never stops until the explosive ending...Perfect for fans of James Patterson, David Baldacci, and Vince Flynn."--Foreword Reviews

"In his novels Blind Thrust and Cluster of Lies, Samuel Marquis vividly combines the excitement of the best modern techno-thrillers, an education in geology, and a clarifying reminder that the choices each of us make have a profound impact on our precious planet."--Ambassador Marc Grossman, Former U.S. Under Secretary of State