Spellhacker

M. K. England (Author)
Available

Description

From the author of The Disasters, this genre-bending YA fantasy heist story is perfect for fans of Marie Lu and Amie Kaufman.

In Kyrkarta, magic--known as maz--was once a freely available natural resource. Then an earthquake released a magical plague, killing thousands and opening the door for a greedy corporation to make maz a commodity that's tightly controlled--and, of course, outrageously expensive.

Which is why Diz and her three best friends run a highly lucrative, highly illegal maz siphoning gig on the side. Their next job is supposed to be their last heist ever.

But when their plan turns up a powerful new strain of maz that (literally) blows up in their faces, they're driven to unravel a conspiracy at the very center of the spellplague--and possibly save the world.

No pressure.--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Harperteen
Publish Date
January 21, 2020
Pages
416
Dimensions
5.8 X 1.3 X 8.5 inches | 1.1 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062657701

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

M. K. England is an author and librarian who grew up on the Space Coast of Florida and now calls small-town rural Virginia home. When she's not writing or librarianing, M. K. can be found drowning in fandom, rolling dice at the Dungeons & Dragons table, digging in the garden, or feeding her video game addiction. She loves Star Wars with a desperate, heedless passion. It's best if you never speak of Sherlock Holmes in her presence. You'll regret it. She is also the author of The Disasters. Visit her at www.mkengland.com.


Reviews

Praise for The Disasters "This laugh-out-loud sci-fi action-adventure will leave readers wanting more."--School Library Journal
"If humankind requires saving, then this is the crew to do it."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"Much to recommend: nonstop cinematic action, strong feminist messages, and great diversity of characters."--ALA Booklist
"An action-packed, entertaining blend of space hijinks, humor, and romance."--Kirkus Reviews
"An explosion of edge-of-your-seat twists and high-stakes danger that leaves you glued to the page and rooting for these lovable misfits. I wanted a snarky romp across the galaxy, and M.K. England delivered with the force of a supernova."--Ashley Poston, author of Geekerella and Heart of Iron
"A clever, cosmic thrill ride packed with nonstop action and starring a motley crew that won me over from page one. Just too much fun!"--Mackenzi Lee, New York Times bestselling author of A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
"Wildly entertaining and crackling with chemistry. Nax and his crew will crash land in your heart and leave you filled with laughter and hope."--Kerri Maniscalco, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Escaping from Houdini
"A BLAST from start to finish! Absurd levels of fun, fantastic pacing, and lovable authentic characters bring this rollicking adventure to life. Looking for a book you can't put down? Pick up The Disasters. Mission accomplished."--Katherine Locke, author of The Girl with the Red Balloon (2018 Sydney Taylor Honor Book)
"A bold and futuristic thrill ride with a dazzling blend of magic, mayhem, friendship, and heart."--Jess Rothenberg, author of The Kingdom
"Joyfully queer. Buckle in for this high-speed, bighearted sci-fi/fantasy adventure."--Kirkus Reviews
"A humorous mix of SF and fantasy with a diverse cast of strong personalities ... [and] action that carries on right to the end."--Booklist
"Fresh, inventive fun."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books