Soulswift

Megan Bannen (Author)
Available

Description

A dark, epic fantasy about a girl who must rethink everything she believes after she is betrayed and hunted by the religion that raised her--from Megan Bannen, author of The Bird and the Blade. Perfect for fans of The Winner's Curse and The Girl of Fire and Thorns.

Gelya is a Vessel, a girl who channels the word of the One True God through song. Cloistered with the other Vessels of her faith, she believes--as all Ovinists do--that a saint imprisoned Elath the Great Demon centuries ago, saving humanity from earthly temptation.

When Gelya stumbles into a deadly cover-up by the Ovinists' military, she reluctantly teams up with Tavik, an enemy soldier, to survive. Tavik believes that Elath is actually a mother goddess who must be set free, but while he succeeds in opening Her prison, he inadvertently turns Gelya into Elath's unwilling human vessel.

Now the church that raised Gelya considers her a threat. In a race against the clock, she and Tavik must find a way to exorcise Elath's presence from her body. But will this release stop the countdown to the end of the world, or will it be the cause of the earth's destruction?

And as Tavik and Gelya grow closer, another question lingers between them: What will become of Gelya?

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publish Date
November 17, 2020
Pages
480
Dimensions
5.6 X 7.8 X 1.7 inches | 1.15 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062674180

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Megan Bannen is a librarian and the author of The Bird and the Blade. In her spare time, she collects graduate degrees from Kansas colleges and universities. While most of her professional career has been spent in public libraries, she has also sold luggage, written grants, and taught English at home and abroad. She lives in the Kansas City area with her husband, their two sons, and a few too many pets with literary names.

Reviews

"The Bird and the Blade has everything I want in a novel: vivid characters, sumptuous prose, romance, funny dialogue, and a sweeping storyline in an intricately researched world. This story will break your heart--but it will remake it, too."
--Rosalyn Eves, author of Blood Rose Rebellion

"Lavish, sweeping, and powerful.... A must-read for fans of heart-wrenching, sob-your-heart-out YA."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Praise for THE BIRD AND THE BLADE: β€œThe Bird and the Blade is a tale filled with magic and mystery. It will entrance you from the first page. Meticulously researched and beautifully executed, this story will linger long after you have finished reading.”--#1 NYT bestselling author RenΓ¨e Ahdieh
"A rich, imaginative tale that delivers thrilling characters, heartstopping action, and exciting intrigue with every turn of the page."--ALA Booklist
"At once haunting and compelling, this tale of love and loalty will wreck you. Exquisite from the first note to the last."
--Natalie C. Parker, author of Beware the Wild
"Will leave readers in tears"--School Library Journal
"A magical and tragic romantic adventure."--Publishers Weekly
"Clever twists and narrative devices will make this novel a favorite."--Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)