Songs for the Deaf: stories

Available

Product Details

Price
$18.00  $16.56
Publisher
Burrow Press
Publish Date
Pages
186
Dimensions
5.0 X 0.43 X 7.99 inches | 0.46 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781941681657

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

John Henry Fleming is the author of The Legend of the Barefoot Mailman, a novel, and Fearsome Creatures of Florida, a literary bestiary, and The Book I Will Write, a serial novel-in-emails. His short stories have appeared in journals such as McSweeney's, the North American Review, Mississippi Review, Fourteen Hills, and Carve, and have been anthologized in 100% Pure Florida Fiction and in The Future Dictionary of America. His awards include a Literature Fellowship from the State of Florida. He has a PhD in Creative Writing from The University of Louisiana-Lafayette, and is the founding editor of Saw Palm: florida literature and art.

Reviews

"Songs for the Deaf is a joyful, deranged, endlessly surprising book of stories that defy easy categorization. Fleming's prose is glorious music; his rhythms will get into your bloodstream, and his images will sink into your dreams. Thank you, Burrow Press, for bringing John Fleming's radioactively imaginative stories to us."
-Karen Russell, author of Swamplandia!

"Fans of George Saunders or Donald Barthelme will (not might; will) enjoy John Henry Fleming's Songs for the Deaf."
-Orlando Weekly

"Songs for the Deaf reveals some of Fleming's influences-Franz Kafka, Italo Calvino, and Gabriel Garcia Marquez... It's a fun, all-over-the-place mix."
-SCENE magazine

"Fleming is a whimsical, imaginative, often funny writer, but even his most outlandish stories can sneak up on you with insight into the human condition."
-Tampa Bay Times

"The extent of John Henry Fleming's literary range is unmistakable..."
-New York Journal of Books

"Traumatic events in their lives lead some characters to redemption, others to extinction. Skillful choice of language, dark humor, and the occasional integration of fantastic elements ensure enjoyment. These strong stories will appeal to fans of literary writing and short stories."
-Booklist

"Where Fleming truly excels is in the briefest story, "A Charmed Life," which traces a lovable loser protagonist's travels with straight-faced sincerity, showing what a skilled writer can accomplish in just a few short pages."
-Publishers Weekly