Smashed

Lisa Luedeke (Author)
Backorder

Description

A field hockey star grapples with addiction in this riveting debut that will appeal to fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak.

Stay out of trouble for one more year, and Katie Martin can leave her small town loneliness behind forever. She is a field hockey star on the fast track to a college scholarship, but her relationship with alcohol has always been a little questionable. Then trouble finds her. Alec is the most popular guy in school, and also the biggest bully--with his sights set firmly on Katie. When Alec turns on the charm, Katie thinks she must have been wrong about him.
Except that she wasn't. On a rain-soaked, alcohol-drenched night, one impulsive decision leaves Katie indebted to Alec in the worst possible way. This debut novel is a fast-paced and compelling story of addiction, heartbreak, and redemption.

Product Details

Price
$16.98
Publisher
Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publish Date
August 21, 2012
Pages
323
Dimensions
5.81 X 8.32 X 1.14 inches | 0.92 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781442427792

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Lisa Luedeke is a debut novelist. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband and daughter. Visit her at LisaLuedeke.com.

Reviews

"[A] powerful debut. Gripping and relatable, Luedeke's story portrays Katie's conflicted psychological state as she attempts to reconcile her guilt with her slow awareness that she deserves to feel safe. A thoughtful and complex portrait of addiction, accountability, and the debilitating impact of low self-esteem."
"The compelling pace and relatable characters make this novel a solid recommendation for readers who enjoy Ellen Hopkins and Gail Giles."
"Readers of Laurie Halse Anderson's "Speak" (1999) will be drawn in by this similarly powerful tale of overcoming trauma and finding inner strength."