Sleeping Beauties: An Inspector Tom Reynolds Mystery

Jo Spain (Author)
Available

Description

International bestselling author Jo Spain's third Inspector Tom Reynolds mystery puts him and his task force in the crosshairs of one of most sinister killers yet.

The inspector frowned and examined the earth under the trees. As he scanned the glade, his stomach lurched. One, two, three, four. Five, counting the mound of earth disturbed under the tent. Somebody had cleared the earth of its natural layer and sown their own flowers.

In five places.

Five graves.

A young woman, Fiona Holland, has gone missing from a small Irish village. A search is mounted, but there are whispers. Fiona had a wild reputation. Was she abducted, or has she run away?

A week later, a gruesome discovery is made in the woods at Ireland's most scenic beauty spot-the valley of Glendalough. The bodies are all young women who disappeared in recent years. DI Tom Reynolds and his team are faced with the toughest case of their careers-a serial killer, who hunts vulnerable women, and holds his victims captive before he ends their lives.

Soon the race is on to find Fiona Holland before it's too late...

Product Details

Price
$26.99  $24.83
Publisher
Crooked Lane Books
Publish Date
July 07, 2020
Pages
384
Dimensions
6.1 X 1.3 X 9.3 inches | 1.2 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781643853055

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jo Spain is a full-time writer and screenwriter. Her first novel, With Our Blessing, was one of seven books shortlisted in the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller competition and her first psychological thriller, The Confession, was a number one bestseller in Ireland. Jo co-wrote the ground-breaking TV series Taken Down which first broadcast in Ireland in 2018. She's now working on multiple European TV projects. Joanne lives in Dublin with her husband and their four young children.

Reviews

Praise for Sleeping Beauties
"Spain keeps the reader guessing until the end."
--Publishers Weekly

"An especially laudable job of portraying the dangers and injustices facing so-called loose women
who report sexual crimes. An excellent tale that's perfect for fans of Tana French.
--Booklist

"Spain lays out a good story plot and every clue follows a path to the end of the story with no
deviations, no short cuts, just good detective work."
--New York Journal of Books

Praise for the Inspector Tom Reynolds mysteries:
"Absolutely my comfort reading."
--Ann Cleeves, author of Vera & the Shetland series

"Jo Spain's vivid thriller explores the dark secrets from Ireland's past that continue to haunt Irish Bsociety today"
--Martin Sixsmith, author of Philomena

"We've been spoiled for choice over the last few years with some excellent fiction from homegrown authors, and this debut from Jo Spain certainly deserves to take its place among the must-reads in the crime/thriller genre."
--Mayo library 2015 top picks

"Reminiscent of Louise Penny's The Beautiful Mystery... Stories from past and present mingling together like the twisted roots of an ancient tree...Jo Spain is definitely a name to watch for the future."
--Crimefictionlover

"In a very strong year for Irish crime-fiction debuts, Jo Spain's With Our Blessing is among the most assured . . . an old-fashioned harking back to Agatha Christie . . . The apparently cosy tone is only skin deep, however: With Our Blessing picks at the scabs of recent Irish history to reveal raw and gaping wounds"
--Declan Burke Irish Times

"Dublin author, Jo Spain, has debuted with gusto...This is a novel of tension, suspense and stories...a page-turner, no doubt. The warmness of the characters made it an extra special read, with the added feeling of reading a modern Agatha Christie tipping it into one of the best crime thrillers I have read for a while."
--Bleach House Library

"Spain's vivid thriller explores the dark secrets of Ireland's past that are a real-life situation haunting so many people within Irish society today."
--Irish Country Living

"The best crime novels are arguably those which provide insight into how a society's fabric is structured... With Our Blessing is a timely exploration of Ireland's shameful recent past. Good ideas are like hens-teeth and the premise for the novel is razor-sharp.... The denouement is fiendishly clever, a climax in the old-fashioned Agatha Christie-esque sense... a big fat twist is lobbed into the ending like a hand grenade"
--Claire Coughlan, Sunday Independent

"Brilliant! Fast paced, well researched and sensitive. Jo Spain is a sparkling new talent"
--Irish Examiner

"An uncomfortable read that delves into [a] country's dark secrets"
--Irish Independent

"Jo Spain writes as good a procedural as you are ever likely to read."
--Crime Review