Sins of Our Fathers

Available

Product Details

Price
$26.00  $23.92
Publisher
Milkweed Editions
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.6 X 1.3 X 8.6 inches | 1.3 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781571311092
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Shawn Lawrence Otto is the writer and co-producer of the Oscar-nominated film "House of Sand and Fog." He also writes for top studios like DreamWorks and Lions Gate. His nonfiction has appeared in "Rolling Stone, Science," and "Salon," among other publications. He lives in Minneapolis, MN.

Reviews

Finalist for The 2014 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Mystery/Thriller

Praise for Sins of Our Fathers

"A wonderfully vivid debut."
--Publishers Weekly (starred)

"Fans of Larry Watson and Louise Erdrich will enjoy the intricate plot, well-developed characters, and readers who are interested in mysteries with a Minnesota setting will want to try this edgy page-turner."
--Library Journal

"With precise writing and a storyteller's eye for detail, it's hard to believe this is Shawn Lawrence Otto's debut novel. Sins of Our Fathers is a fine depiction of how all the best intentions can--and do--go very, very wrong. A magnificent debut."
--Urban Waite, author of The Terror of Living

"In Sins of Our Fathers, screenwriter-turned-novelist Shawn Lawrence Otto has pushed his perfectly crafted characters to their limits. The result is a literary tour de force and a psychological thriller that hooked me from the first page and carried me through to its stunning conclusion."
--Joel Surnow, creator of 24

"Excellent writing and dynamic characters make this novel a page turner that stands above the rest."
--Robert Alexander, Author of The Kitchen Boy

"Banking issues, as well as stereotyping and generalization, are longstanding problems in Indian country. As I read Sins of Our Fathers, I imagined many of the scenes vividly, because many Native people have lived them. It is almost as if instead of writing a novel, Shawn Lawrence Otto has managed to capture a true story that is often repeated in different forms. I love this novel."
--Sidra Starkovich, Bois Forte Tribal Planning and Community Development Officer

"Believable characters and a strong sense of place mark this tale of risk and redemption."
--Booklist