Silver City: A Novel of the American West

Jeff Guinn (Author)
Backorder

Product Details

Price
$31.99
Publisher
Thorndike Press Large Print
Publish Date
July 12, 2017
Pages
520
Dimensions
5.6 X 1.2 X 8.6 inches | 1.5 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781410498410
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jeff Guinn is the winner of the 2016 TCU Texas Book Award and the bestselling author of numerous works of fiction and nonfiction, including Buffalo Trail, Glorious, Manson, The Last Gunfight, and Go Down Together: The True, Untold Story of Bonnie and Clyde. The former books editor at the Fort Worth Star-Telegram and award-winning investigative journalist, he is a member of the Texas Institute of Letters and the Texas Literary Hall of Fame. Guinn lives in Fort Worth.

Reviews

Praise for "Buffalo Trail"
A grand effort, and Quanah and his bogus medicine man, Isatai, are an entertaining pair. "Booklist"
Full of historical notable figures from the Old West, this second volume in Guinn s trilogy not only provides a buoyant narrative but also several lessons in Western history. This title is so well constructed that it could stand alone. Guinn skillfully ties his carefully constructed prologue outlining the Massacre at Sand Creek (1864) to a lone female warrior he imagines at the Second Battle at Adobe Walls. "Library Journal"
Guinn makes lively characters of historical buffalo hunters, and his imaginative take booms like a Sharps .50 as cultures collide across the Cimarron River. . . . Guinn s research brings to life the daily lives of the Comanche. . . . Few Westerns reach the level of "Lonesome Dove," but Guinn s latest is a better, more rambunctious tale than the trilogy s opener. "Kirkus Reviews""
Praise for Buffalo Trail

A grand effort, and Quanah and his bogus medicine man, Isatai, are an entertaining pair. Booklist
Full of historical notable figures from the Old West, this second volume in Guinn s trilogy not only provides a buoyant narrative but also several lessons in Western history. This title is so well constructed that it could stand alone. Guinn skillfully ties his carefully constructed prologue outlining the Massacre at Sand Creek (1864) to a lone female warrior he imagines at the Second Battle at Adobe Walls. Library Journal
Guinn makes lively characters of historical buffalo hunters, and his imaginative take booms like a Sharps .50 as cultures collide across the Cimarron River. . . . Guinn s research brings to life the daily lives of the Comanche. . . . Few Westerns reach the level of Lonesome Dove, but Guinn s latest is a better, more rambunctious tale than the trilogy s opener. Kirkus Reviews"
[A] rousing story of revenge. . . Set against a Deadwood style backdrop and featuring a real gunslinger (a pre-OK Corral Ike Clanton) as a supporting character, the book is sure to appeal to fans of the first two novels, but, since the author provides the necessary background, newcomers will have no trouble jumping right in. Plenty of action for genre western fans but enough meat for a broader cut of historical-fiction readers. --Booklist
Praise for Buffalo Trail


A grand effort, and Quanah and his bogus medicine man, Isatai, are an entertaining pair. Booklist
Full of historical notable figures from the Old West, this second volume in Guinn s trilogy not only provides a buoyant narrative but also several lessons in Western history. This title is so well constructed that it could stand alone. Guinn skillfully ties his carefully constructed prologue outlining the Massacre at Sand Creek (1864) to a lone female warrior he imagines at the Second Battle at Adobe Walls. Library Journal
Guinn makes lively characters of historical buffalo hunters, and his imaginative take booms like a Sharps .50 as cultures collide across the Cimarron River. . . . Guinn s research brings to life the daily lives of the Comanche. . . . Few Westerns reach the level of Lonesome Dove, but Guinn s latest is a better, more rambunctious tale than the trilogy s opener. Kirkus Reviews"
[A] rousing story of revenge....Plenty of action for genre western fans but enough meat for a broader cut of historical-fiction readers. --Booklist

Wonderful....This is a Western you have to love, and Killer Boots might be the most unnerving Western bad man since Blue Duck in Larry McMurtry s Lonesome Dove. -- Roundup Magazine

Praise for Buffalo Trail


A grand effort, and Quanah and his bogus medicine man, Isatai, are an entertaining pair. Booklist
Full of historical notable figures from the Old West, this second volume in Guinn s trilogy not only provides a buoyant narrative but also several lessons in Western history. This title is so well constructed that it could stand alone. Guinn skillfully ties his carefully constructed prologue outlining the Massacre at Sand Creek (1864) to a lone female warrior he imagines at the Second Battle at Adobe Walls. Library Journal
Guinn makes lively characters of historical buffalo hunters, and his imaginative take booms like a Sharps .50 as cultures collide across the Cimarron River. . . . Guinn s research brings to life the daily lives of the Comanche. . . . Few Westerns reach the level of Lonesome Dove, but Guinn s latest is a better, more rambunctious tale than the trilogy s opener. Kirkus Reviews"
"[A] rousing story of revenge....Plenty of action for genre western fans but enough meat for a broader cut of historical-fiction readers." --Booklist

"Wonderful....This is a Western you have to love, and Killer Boots might be the most unnerving Western bad man since Blue Duck in Larry McMurtry's Lonesome Dove."-- Roundup Magazine

"This is what Guinn does: Instead of filling his books with the mythology of the Old West, much of which has no basis in fact, he goes for authenticity and reveals what life in those times really was like." --Ft. Worth Star-Telegram

"In previous works, Fort Worth novelist Jeff Guinn has shown a keen eye for detail and historical accuracy. They serve him well again in Silver City...skillfully raises the stakes for his main characters....Silver City caps off an engrossing Old West trilogy well worth reading." -Dallas Morning News
"Guinn gives readers a good chase up and through the Arizona desert, an exciting fight with a young Geronimo and his men, and a scrappy new heroine with a definite mind of her own." -Quad City Times

""What makes his books stand out is the ability to show how women played an important role in frontier society....Guinn displays women as gutsy, independent, and strong." --Historical Novels Review

"Will keep you turning the pages....Guinn...really knows how to keep a reader zoned in." -Abilene Reporter-News
"This latest entry did not disappoint. The steady unraveling of the plot is genuinely exciting. Killer Boots is a devious killer, and when Cash convinces Gabrielle to move to California with him, their whole world spins out of control...I highly recommend this book and the series as a whole." -Historical Novels Review

"Perfect for fans of John Wayne and Zane Grey. . . A worthy read for any fan of the Old West. Lively characters, authentic Old West settings, and great storytelling highlight this tale. . . Silver City is a rousing Western adventure, and one this ol' cowboy fan found very satisfying." -The Oklahoman

Praise for Buffalo Trail


"A grand effort, and Quanah and his bogus medicine man, Isatai, are an entertaining pair." --Booklist
"Full of historical notable figures from the Old West, this second volume in Guinn's trilogy not only provides a buoyant narrative but also several lessons in Western history. This title is so well constructed that it could stand alone. Guinn skillfully ties his carefully constructed prologue outlining the Massacre at Sand Creek (1864) to a lone female warrior he imagines at the Second Battle at Adobe Walls." --Library Journal
"Guinn makes lively characters of historical buffalo hunters, and his imaginative take booms like a Sharps .50 as cultures collide across the Cimarron River. . . . Guinn's research brings to life the daily lives of the Comanche. . . . Few Westerns reach the level of Lonesome Dove, but Guinn's latest is a better, more rambunctious tale than the trilogy's opener." --Kirkus Reviews