Side Effects May Vary

Julie Murphy (Author)
Available

Description

The first book from Julie Murphy, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin'--now a Netflix feature film starring Danielle Macdonald and Jennifer Aniston, with a soundtrack by Dolly Parton!

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel about a girl with cancer who creates a take-no-prisoners bucket list that sets off a war at school--only to discover she's gone into remission.

When sixteen-year-old Alice is diagnosed with leukemia, she vows to spend her final months righting wrongs. So she convinces her best friend, Harvey, to help her with a crazy bucket list that's as much about revenge as it is about hope.

But just when Alice's scores are settled, she goes into remission, and now she must face the consequences of all she's said and done.

Contemporary realistic fiction readers who love romantic stories featuring strong heroines will find much to savor in this standout debut.

Product Details

Price
$17.99
Publisher
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publish Date
March 18, 2014
Pages
330
Dimensions
5.9 X 8.4 X 1.2 inches | 0.9 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062245359

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Julie Murphy lives in North Texas with her husband who loves her, her dog who adores her, and her cats who tolerate her. After several wonderful years in the library world, Julie now writes full-time. When she's not writing or reliving her reference desk glory days, she can be found watching made-for-TV movies, hunting for the perfect slice of cheese pizza, and planning her next great travel adventure. She is also the author of the young adult novels Dumplin' (now a film on Netflix), Puddin', Ramona Blue, and Side Effects May Vary. You can visit Julie at www.juliemurphywrites.com.

Reviews

"Julie Murphy weaves together a tender and funny tale of love, friendship, heartache, and redemption. SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY explodes with brutal honesty, brilliant wit, and unflinching heart."--John Corey Whaley, winner of the Michael L. Printz Award for WHERE THINGS COME BACK
"Julie Murphy's SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY is a funny, heartfelt, honest look at the beauty and the risk of getting a second chance. An inspiring novel about all the things worth living for. I adored this debut!"--Siobhan Vivian, author of The List
"A funny and touching novel about a strong-willed heroine who finds facing death simple, but facing life heart-wrenchingly complicated. A real original."--Jennifer Echols, author of GOING TOO FAR
"Readers will turn the last page wanting to know where the next chapter leads."--Kirkus Reviews
"Alice and Harvey's relationship is raw, honest, moving, and unapologetic in its depiction of their individual, and collective, pain."--Booklist
"Honest and unflinching, this is a compelling story of one teen's struggle with cancer, love, and living. A worthwhile addition."--School Library Journal
"A tale of unlikely romance, impossible obstacles, and mortality, this book is a must-read."--Teen Vogue
"It's equal parts fun, cringe-worthy, and totally fearless!"--Seventeen Magazine
"An unexpected twist on the typical cancer story."--Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)